County Council of Howard County, Maryland

2018 Legislative Session

Legislative day #

RESOLUTION NO. <u>8/</u> - 2018

Introduced by: Chairperson at the request of the County Executive

A RESOLUTION approving a list of Howard County residents to be sent to the Governor, in accordance with State law, so that the Governor may choose one of the residents from the list to fill a vacancy on the Property Tax Assessment Appeal Board.

Introduced and read first time on	
	By order Jessica Feldmark, Administrator to the County Council
Read for a second time and a public hearing held on	2 18, 2018.
•	By order Jessica Peldmark, Administrator to the County Council
This Resolution was read the third time and was Adopted, Ado on	opted with amendments, Failed, Withdrawn by the County Council
5530 6077 h	Certified by Jessica Peldmark, Administrator to the County Council

NOTE: [[text in brackets]] indicates deletions from existing language; TEXT IN ALL CAPITALS indicates additions to existing language.

Strike-out indicates material deleted by amendment; <u>Underlining</u> indicates material added by amendment.

1	WHEREAS, Sections 3-102 through 3-107 of the Tax-Property Article of the Annotated
2	Code of Maryland provide for Property Tax Assessment Appeal Board in Howard County; and also
3	provide that the County must submit three names to the Governor for each vacancy on the Board; and
4	WHEREAS, the County Executive has proposed that names of Richard W. Meyer, David
5	Sciamarelli and Peter Hong be submitted to the Governor for appointment as a member of the
6	Property Tax Assessment Appeal Board; and
7	WHEREAS, the County Council ratifies the County Executive's special trust and confidence
8	in the abilities of the nominees.
9	NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED by the County Council of Howard County,
10	Maryland this 2 day of 2018 that the following names are approved for submission to
11	the Governor for appointment as a member of the Property Tax Assessment Appeal Board to serve
12	from the passage of this Resolution to June 1, 2023 or until a successor is appointed and confirmed:
13	
14	Richard W. Meyer
15	Ellicott City, MD
16	D - '10 '- 11'
17 18	David Sciamarelli
19	Columbia, MD
20	Peter Hong
21	West Friendship, MD