County Council of Howard County, Maryland

2019 Legislative Session

Legislative Day No. 4

Resolution No. 30-2019

Introduced by: Christiana Mercer Rigby

A RESOLUTION appointing Mary Marker to the Citizens' Election Fund Commission.

Introduced and read first time	, 2019		
		By order _	Jessica Feldmark, Administrator
Read for a second time and a public hearing on	, 2019		
		By order _	Jessica Feldmark, Administrator
This Bill was read the third time and was Adopted, 2019.	, Adopted with amendme	nts, Fa	ailed Withdrawn by the County Council on
		Certified I	by Jessica Feldmark, Administrator

NOTE: [[text in brackets]] indicates deletions from existing law; TEXT IN SMALL CAPITALS indicates additions to existing law; Strike-out indicates material deleted by amendment; Underlining indicates material added by amendment.

1	WHEREAS, Section 907 of the Howard County Charter requires the County			
2	Council of Howard County to establish a Citizens' Election Fund Commission consisting of			
3	five County residents appointed by the Council and two County residents appointed by the			
4	County Executive; and			
5				
6	WHEREAS, Section 10.310 of the County Code creates the Commission and			
7	provides for the qualifications, terms, and officers of the Commission; and			
8				
9	WHEREAS, the Commission's purpose is to calculate, not later than 180 days			
10	prior to the end of the fiscal year, the total amount estimated for the full election cycle and			
11	the amount to be included in the current expense budget for the ensuing fiscal year to fully			
12	fund the Citizens' Election Fund System; and			
13				
14	WHEREAS, Section 10.310 of the County Code further requires that each			
15	nominee shall be confirmed by a separate Resolution of the County Council.			
16				
17	NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED by the County Council of Howard			
18	County, Maryland this day of, 2019 that the representative of District 3 on			
19	the Citizens' Election Fund Commission is Mary Marker, Columbia, MD.			
20				
21	AND BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that the term of this representative is six			
22	years and shall begin on the May 1, 2019.			