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WHEREAS, Section 6-206(b) of the Public Safety Article of the Annotated Code of
Maryland authorizes the State Fire Prevention Commission to adopt fees for reviewing building

plans and conducting inspections; and

WHEREAS, Sections 9-701 and 9-702 of the Public Safety Article of the Annotated
Code of Maryland authorize a local governing body to adopt a fire prevention code and to

establish and administer a fee schedule for conducting inspections and plan review; and

WHEREAS, Howard County has adopted a fire prevention code, as codified in Title 17,
Subtitle 1 of the Howard County Code, which authorizes the adoption of fees; and

WHEREAS, the Code of Maryland Regulations at Chapter 29.06.04 (the “State
Regulations™) provides that the State’s Fire Prevention Commission’s Fees for Fire Prevention
Services can be used, amended, or referenced by a County that chooses to establish its own fee

schedule; and

WHEREAS, by passage of Council Resolution No. 68-2016, the County Council last
adopted fees for certain inspections performed by the Department of Fire and Rescue Services;

and

WHEREAS, the Department of Fire and Rescue Services wishes to adopt the fee
schedule for fire safety inspections, as provided in the attached Exhibit A, and there are no

changes proposed for Fiscal Year 2020.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED by the County Council of Howard County,
Maryland this Z_szﬁy of \/ M , 2019 that, pursuant to State Regulations that allow

local jurisdictions to use, amend, or refege)lce the State’s Fire Prevention Commission’s Fees for

Fire Prevention Services, it adopts the amended Schedule of Fees for Fire Safety Inspections, as

shown in the attached Exhibit A.



1 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the fee schedule shall be effective July 1, 2019 and

2  shall continue in effect until changed or repealed by subsequent resolution.



EXHIBIT A

I Fees for Fire Safety Inspections

A.

w

This fee schedule has been adopted by County Council Resolution No.  -2019 pursuant to the authority set forth in
Title 17, Subtitle 1 of the Howard County Code and the State of Maryland Fire Prevention Code (C.O.M.A.R. Title
29, Subtitle 06, Chapter 4).

This schedule will be used to calculate the fee to be paid for a fire safety inspection conducted by the Howard County
Department of Fire and Rescue Services. Specific testing of certain specialized fire protection systems and equipment
may be required by qualified maintenance personnel or a contractor at the owner’s expense.

The following fees will be applied upon the occupancy classification for the building as defined and classified by the
National Fire Protection Association (NFPA) 101 Life Safety Code. In the case of mixed occupancies when it is
impractical to distinguish the individual occupancy classifications, the occupancy classification is based on the
predominant use and occupancy of the building structure. Use Section 3.3.190 when determining the occupancy type.

1) Assembly Occupancies

a) 1,001 or more individuals $300.00
b) 301 to 1,000 individuals $200.00
¢) 50 to 300 individuals $100.00
d) Fairgrounds for properties with:
i) Nine buildings or less $200.00
ii) Ten buildings or more $400.00
2) Educational Occupancy
a) Elementary schools $100.00
(includes kindergarten and pre-kindergarten facilities)
b) Middle or Junior High Schools $150.00
¢) Senior High Schools $150.00
d) Family or Group Daycare Homes
i) Initial Inspection $75.00
ii) Renewal Inspection $50.00
e) Nursery or Daycare Centers $100.00
3) Health Care Occupancy
a) Ambulatory Health Care Centers $150.00 (Per 3,000 sq. ft. or fraction of 3,000 sq. ft)
b) Hospitals, Nursing Homes and limited care facilities $100.00 per bldg., plus $2.00 per bed
4) Detention and Correctional Occupancy $100.00 per bldg., plus $2.00 per rated bed
5) Residential Occupancy
a) Hotel and Motel $75.00 per bldg., plus $2.00 per guest room/suite
b) Dormitory $75.00 per bldg., plus $2.00 per bed
¢) Apartment $75.00 per bldg., plus $2.00 per apartment
d) Lodging or Rooming House $75.00 per bldg., plus $2.00 per bed
e) One & Two Family Dwelling $75.00
Including alternative living units and Foster Care
f) Board & Care Homes $100.00 per bldg., plus $2.00 per bed



6) Mercantile Occupancy
a) Class A —over 30,000 sq. feet
b) Class B -3, 000 to 30,000 sq. feet
c) Class C - less than 3,000 sq. feet

7) Business Occupancy
Per 3,000 sq. feet or fraction of 3,000 sq. feet

8) Industrial or Storage Occupancy
a) Low or Ordinary Hazard
b) High Hazard

9) Manufactured Home Site and Communities
10) Campgrounds

a) Vehicular

b) With Sleeping Accommodations

¢) Without Sleeping Accommodations

11) Outside storage of combustible materials

(Ex: scrap tire, lumber, mulch, tree stumps, etc.)

12) Outside storage of flammable or combustible liquids/gases

(Ex: drums or tanks)
13) Marinas and Piers

14) Mobile Food

15) HAZMAT Iunspections

$150.00
$100.00
$75.00

$75.00

$75.00 (Per 5,000 sq. feet or fraction of 5,000)
$100.00 (Per 5,000 sq. feet or fraction of 5,000)
$75.00 per facility, plus $2.00 per site
$75.00 per facility, plus $2.00 per campsite
$150.00 per facility, plus $2.00 per bed
$75.00 per facility

$50.00 (Per acre or fraction of an acre)

$100.00 (Per 5,000 sq. feet or fraction of 5,000 sq. feet)

$100.00, plus $1.00 per slip

Annual fee $75
One day fee  $45

Re-inspection  $45

Type I- $1,000.00 annually
Type 1I- $400.00 annually
Type III- $250.00 annually
Type IV- $100.00 annually
Type V- $100.00 annually

If you have a seasonal pool that is open no more than 120 consecutive days, your fees would be 50% of the permit

fee.

Permit bLate Fees

. 30 days beyond the filing date will be assessed a 10% late fee plus the original permit fee.
. 60 days beyond the filing date will be assessed a 20% late fee plus the original permit fee.
. 90 days beyond the filing date will be assessed a 50% late fee plus the original permit fee.
. 180 days beyond the filing date will be assessed a 100% late fee plus the original permit fee.



16) Tires Tier 1- $500.00 annually
Tier 2- $325.00 annually
Tier 3- $150.00 annually
Permit Late Fees
. 30 days beyond the filing date will be assessed a 10% late fee plus the original permit fee.

. 60 days beyond the filing date will be assessed a 20% late fee plus the original permit fee.

. 90 days beyond the filing date will be assessed a 50% late fee plus the original permit fee.

. 180 days beyond the filing date will be assessed a 100% late fee plus the original permit fee.
17) Contractor Portal $5/per report submitted

D. A re-inspection fee of $150.00 applies if more than one inspection is required to correct a previously identified fire
code violation.
II _Fees for Technical Assistance, Unclassified Inspections, and Special Events
A. The fee schedule below shall be used to calculate the fee for Howard County Department of Fire and Rescue Services
to provide technical assistance or unclassified inspections, to include special events, in the form of plan review or on-
site inspections.
B. A separate technical assistance fee shall be charged at the following rate and prorated to the nearest % hour:
1) Deputy Fire Marshal or Fire Safety Inspector $75.00 per hour
2) Fire Protection Engineer $100.00 per hour
C. Travel time to and from a meeting or inspection site shall be included when computing the fee.
D. When requested, a reasonable time to prepare written reports or research subsequent code related issues shall be
included when computing fees.
E. The fee shall be charged to the person officially requesting assistance and shall be payable upon receipt of an itemized
invoice submitted in accordance with administrative procedures established by fire authorities.
F. Failure to pay the fee within the required time shall result in appropriate administrative or legal action. Further plan

review or inspection action may not take place until the fee is paid in full. This may result in a delay of the issuance
of a building permit, or use and occupancy permit for the building or facility.

II1 Fee Payment for Fire Safety Inspections

A.

B.

Fees for fire safety inspections are payable upon receipt of an invoice from the Howard County Department of
Finance upon completion of the inspection. Failure to pay this fee within the specified time may result in:

a) Administrative or legal action;

b) No further inspection activity;

c¢) Denial of the issuance or renewal of a permit or license held by the facility being inspected,

d) Violation of Public Safety Article 6-601, 6-317, 9-109, 9-206, 9-905, Annotated Code of Maryland.

The fire safety inspection fee may not be charged if the inspection is conducted in response to a specific complaint
regarding an alleged violation of the Howard County Fire Prevention Code.



C. Payment Method
a) Fee payments shall be in the form of a check or money order payable to the Howard County Director of

Finance.
b) Cash payment is not acceptable.

IV Disposition of Fees

A. Fees collected by the Howard County Department of Finance for inspections shall be deposited in the fire tax fund of
the Howard County Department of Fire and Rescue Services.

B. Fees shall be collected and processed in accordance with fiscal procedures established by the Howard County
Department of Finance for the collection, disbursement, and accounting of funds.



