County Council of Howard County, Maryland

2020 Legislative Session

Legislative Day No. 12

Resolution No. 143 -2020

Introduced by: Liz Walsh

A Resolution declaring policy support by the Howard County Council for the "Fight For \$15" Coalition, which successfully advocated for the passage and eventual enactment of a phased-in \$15 per hour minimum wage for Marylanders, and for maintaining the first minimum wage phase-in as enacted, effective January 1, 2021.

Introduced and read first time on, 202	20.
	By order Diane Schwartz Jones, Administrator to the County Council
Read for a second time and a public hearing held on	, 2020.
	By order Diane Schwartz Jones, Administrator to the County Council
This Resolution was read the third time and was Adopted, 2020.	_, Adopted with amendments, Failed, Withdrawnby the County Council

Certified by

Diane Schwartz Jones, Administrator to the County Council

NOTE: [[text in brackets]] indicates deletions from existing language; TEXT IN ALL CAPITALS indicates additions to existing language. Strike-out indicates material deleted by amendment; <u>Underlining</u> indicates material added by amendment.

1	WHEREAS, the "Fight For \$15" Coalition successfully advocated for the passage and the
2	eventual enactment in 2019 of a phased-in \$15 per hour minimum wage for Marylanders;
3	and
4	
5	WHEREAS, during the deliberation of the Fight For \$15 legislation (HB166/SB280), the
6	Maryland General Assembly added Section 3-413.1 to the Labor and Employment
7	Article of the Maryland Annotated Code, which grants the Board of Public Works the
8	discretion to delay a scheduled increase to the minimum wage if it determines that a
9	certain economic indicator warrants such a delay; this provision became known as the
10	"off ramp;" and
11	
12	WHEREAS, Board of Public Works Members Peter V.R. Franchot, Maryland Comptroller, and
13	Nancy K. Kopp, Maryland State Treasurer, constituting a majority of the Board, have
14	expressed support for the first phase-in of the wage increase to proceed as originally
15	intended, for which we express our gratitude (see e.g., June 23, 2020: Maryland's
16	Minimum Wage Increase Likely to Go Forward, Despite Opposition from Business
17	Groups, by Pamela Wood, Baltimore Sun); and
18	
19	WHEREAS, throughout the entirety of the COVID-19 pandemic, certain front-line workers
20	deemed essential—including health and elder care support workers, childcare workers,
21	grocery store employees, restaurant workers, commercial cleaning crews, landscape and
22	construction labor, and delivery and transit workers-have sacrificed and placed
23	themselves in harm's way as other Marylanders have adhered to the Governor's stay-at-
24	home order; we honor their service to our communities; and
25	
26	WHEREAS, an increase to the minimum wage will benefit these essential workers and their
27	families, among all of Maryland's working families; and
28	
29	WHEREAS, the first phase-in is scheduled to take effect January 1, 2021, increasing
30	Maryland's minimum wage from \$11.00 per hour to \$11.75 per hour; and

1

1	
2	WHEREAS, while the present and near-future economic circumstances for Maryland generally
3	may be uncertain and rather bleak, for working families the financial strain resulting from
4	COVID-19 is certain to be much worse; and
5	
6	WHEREAS, the Howard County Council accordingly believes that now is not the time to delay
7	the January 1, 2021-scheduled increase to Maryland's minimum wage, and that the Board
8	of Public Works should decline to exercise its discretion to do so; and
9	
10	WHEREAS, along with many elected officials from across the State of Maryland, the Howard
11	County Council fully supports the goals of the Fight For \$15 Coalition to protect
12	Maryland's essential workers.
13	
14	NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED by the County Council of Howard County,
15	Maryland, that we hereby declare our full support of the goals of the Fight For \$15
16	Coalition, and for maintaining the first scheduled increase to Maryland's minimum wage
17	enacted by the Maryland General Assembly in 2019, effective January 1, 2021; and
18	
19	BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a copy of this Resolution shall be sent to:
20	The Honorable Lawrence J. Hogan, Jr., Governor, State of Maryland
21	The Honorable Peter V.R. Franchot, Comptroller,
22	The Honorable Nancy K. Kopp, Treasurer
23	The Honorable Adrienne A. Jones, House Speaker
24	The Honorable William C. Ferguson, IV, Senate President