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1 WHEREAS, Section 6-206(b) of the Public Safety Article of the Annotated Code of

2 Maryland authorizes the State Fire Prevention Commission to adopt fees for reviewing building

3 plans and conducting inspections; and

4

5 WHEREAS, Sections 9-701 and 9-702 of the Public Safety Article of the Annotated

6 Code of Maryland authorize a local governing body to adopt a fire prevention code and to

7 establish and administer a fee schedule for conducting inspections and plan review; and

8

9 WHEREAS, Howard County has adopted a fire prevention code, as codified in Title 17,

10 Subtitle 1 of the Howard County Code, which authorizes the adoption of fees; and

11

12 WHEREAS, the Code of Maryland Regulations at Chapter 29.06.04 (the "State

13 Regulations") provides that the State s Fire Prevention Commission s Fees for Fire Prevention

14 Services can be used, amended, or referenced by a County that chooses to establish its own fee

15 schedule; and

16

17 WHEREAS, by passage of Council Resolution No. 80-2019, the County Council last

18 adopted fees for certain inspections performed by the Department of Fire and Rescue Services

19 and there are no rate changes proposed for Fiscal Year 2021.

20

21 NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED by the County Council of Howard County,

22 Maryland this »?7^day of ^«./ _, 2020 that, pursuant to State Regulations that allow

23 local jurisdictions to use, amend, or reference the State s Fire Prevention Commission s Fees for

24 Fire Prevention Services, it adopts the Schedule of Fees for Fire Safety Inspections, as shown In

25 the attached Exhibit A.

26

27 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the fee schedule shall be effective July 1, 2020 and

28 shall continue in effect until changed or repealed by subsequent resolution.



EXHIBIT A

IJ7ees for Fire Safety Insp_ections

A. This fee schedule has been adopted by County Councii Resolution No._-2020 pursuant to the authority set forth in
Title 17, Subtitle 1 of the Howard County Code and the State of Maryland Fire Prevention Code (C.O.M.A.R. Title
29, Subtitle 06, Chapter 4).

B. This schedule will be used to calculate the fee to be paid for a fire safety inspection conducted by the Howard County
Department of Fire and Rescue Services. Specific testing of certain specialized fire protection systems and equipment
may be required by qualified maintenance personnel or a contractor at the owner's expense.

C. The following fees will be applied upon the occupancy classification for the building as defined and classified by the
National Pire Protection Association (NFPA) 101 Life Safety Code. In the case of mixed occupancies when it is
impractical to distinguish the individual occupancy classifications, the occupancy classification is based on the
predominant use and occupancy of the building structure. Use Section 3.3.190 when determining the occupancy type.

1) Assembly Occupancies
a) 1,001 or more individuals $300.00
b) 301 to 1,000 individuals $200.00
c) 50 to 300 individuals $100.00
d) Falrgrounds for properties with:

i) Nine buildings or less $200.00
ii) Ten buildings or more $400.00

2) Educational Occupancy
a) Elementary schools $100.00

(includes kindergarten and pre-kindergarten facilities)
b) Middle or Junior High Schools $150.00
c) Senior High Schools $150.00

3) DAYCARES
[[d]]A) Family or Group Daycare Homes

i) Initial Inspection $75.00
ii) Renewal Inspection $50.00

[[e]]B) Nursery or Daycare Centers $100.00

[[3]]4) Health Care Occupancy
a) Ambulatory Health Care Centers $150,00

(Per 3,000 sq. ft. or fraction of 3,000 sq. ft)
b) Hospitals, Nursing Homes and limited care facilities $100.00

per bldg., plus $2.00 per bed

[[4]]5) Detention and Correctional Occupancy $100.00
per bldg., plus $2.00 per rated bed

[[5]]6) Residential Occupancy
a) Hotel and Motel $75.00

per bldg., plus $2.00 per guest room/suite



b) Dormitory

c) Apartment

d) Lodging or Rooming House

e) One & Two Family Dwelling
Including alternative living units and Foster Care

f) Board & Care Homes

[[6]]7) Mercantile Occupancy
a) CIa5sA-over30,OOOsq.feet
b) Class B-3, 000 to 30,000 sq. feet
c) Class C - less than 3,000 sq. feet

[[7]]8) Business Occupancy
Per 3,000 sq. feet or fraction of 3,000 sq. feet

[[8]]9) Industrial or Storage Occupancy
a) Low or Ordinary Hazard

b) High Hazard

[[9]]10) Manufactured Home Site and Communities

[[10]]U) Campgrounds
a) Vehicular

b) With Sleeping Accommodations

c) Without Sleeping Accommodations

[|ll]]12) Outside storage ofcombustible materials
(Ex: scrap tire, lumber, mulch, tree stumps, etc.),

$75.00
per bldg., plus $2.00 per bed
$75.00
per bldg., plus $2.00 per apartment
$75.00
per bldg., plus $2.00 per bed
$75.00

$100.00per bldg., plus $2.00 per bed

$150.00
$100.00
$75.00

$75.00

$75.00
(Per 5,000 sq. feet or fi-action of 5,000)

$100.00
(Per 5,000 sq. feet or fraction of 5,000)

$75.00
per facility, plus $2.00 per site

$75.00
per facility, plus $2.00 per campsite
$150.00
per facility, plus $2.00 per bed
$75.00 per facility

$50.00 (Per acre or fi'action of an acre)

[[12]] 13) Outside storage of flammable or combustible liquids/gases $ 100.00
(Ex: drums or tanks) (Per 5,000 sq. feet or fraction of 5,000 sq. feet)

[[13]]14) Marinas and Piers

[[14]]15) Mobile Food

[[15)]] 16) PERMITS

A) HAZMAT Inspections

$100.00, plus $1.00 per slip

Annual fee $75
One day fee $45
Re-inspection $45

Type I- $1,000.00 annually
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Type II-$400.00 annually
Type III-$250.00 annually
Type IV- $100,00 annually
Type V-$ 100.00 annually

If you have a seasonal pool that is open no more than 120 consecutive days, your fees would be 50% of the permit
fee.

[[Permit Late Fees
• 30 days beyond the filing date will be assessed a 10% late fee plus the original permit fee.
• 60 days beyond the filing date will be assessed a 20% late fee plus the original permit fee.
• 90 days beyond the filing date will be assessed a 50% late fee plus the original permit fee.
• 180 days beyond the filing date will be assessed a 100% late fee plus the original permit fee.]]

[[16)]]B) Tires Tier 1- $500.00 annually
Tier 2-$325.00 annually
Tier 3" $150.00 annually

C) Permit Late Fees
A. 30 days beyond the filing date will be assessed a 10% late fee plus the original permit fee.
B. 60 days beyond the filing date will be assessed a 20% late fee plus the original permit fee.
C. 90 days beyond the filing date will be assessed a 50% late fee plus the original permit fee.
D, 180 days beyond the filing date will be assessed a 100% late fee plus the original permit fee.

17) Contractor Portal $5/per report submitted

• Impaired systems and critical deficiencies must be reported within 48 hours.
• Systems that pass, or that have non-critical deficiencies, must be reported within 7 days.
• Portal late submittals constitute a Class A violation and will be subject to a $1,000 per day penalty which

shall be assessed for each day beyond the required filing date, in addition to the original submittal fee.

[[D.JJ18) REINSPECTIONS
A re-inspection fee of $150.00 applies if more than one inspection is required to correct a previously identified fire
code violation.

I]_ Fees for Technical Assistance Jtjnclassifjed Inspections, and Special Events

A. The fee schedule below shall be used to calculate the fee for Howard County Department of Fire and Rescue Services
to provide technical assistance or unclassified inspections, to include special events, in the form of plan review or on-
site inspections.

B. A separate technical assistance fee shall be charged at the following rate and prorated to the nearest ,2 hour:
1) Deputy Fire Marshal or Fire Safety Inspector $75.00 per hour
2) Fire Protection Engineer $100.00 per hour

C. Travel time to and from a meeting or inspection site shall be included when computing the fee.

D. When requested, a reasonable time to prepare written reports or research subsequent code related issues shall be
included when computing fees.



E. The fee shall be charged to the person officially requesting assistance and shall be payable upon receipt of an itemized
invoice submitted in accordance with administrative procedures established by fire authorities.

F. Failure to pay the fee within the required time shall result in appropriate administrative or legal action. Further plan
review or inspection action may not take place until the fee is paid in full. This may result in a delay of the issuance
of a building permit, or use and occupancy permit for the building or facility.

Ill Fee Payment for Fire Safety Inspections

A. Fees for fire safety inspections are payable upon receipt of an invoice from the Howard County Department of
Finance upon completion of the inspection. Failure to pay this fee within the specified time may result in:

a) Administrative or legal action;
b) No further inspection activity;
c) Denial of the issuance or renewal of a permit or license held by the facility being inspected;
d) Violation of Public Safety Article 6-601, 6-317,9-109, 9-206, 9-905, Annotated Code of Maryland.

B. The fire safety inspection fee may not be charged if the inspection is conducted in response to a specific complaint
regarding an alleged violation of the Howard County Fire Prevention Code.

C. Payment Method
a) [[Fee payments shall be in the form of a check or money order payable to the Howard County Director of

Finance.]] FEE PAYMENTS SHALL BE IN THE FORM OF A CREDIT CARD, CHECK, OR MONEY ORDER PAYABLE
TO THE HOWARD COUNTY DIRECTOR OF FINANCE. THE PAYEE IS RESPONSIBLE FOR ALL FEES THAT MAY
INCLUDE, BUT NOT BE LIMITED TO, CANCELLED CHECKS, SERVICE FEES/CHARGES RELATED TO THE PAYMENT.

b) Cash payment is not acceptable.

IV Disposition of Fees

A. Fees collected by the Howard County Department of Finance for inspections shall be deposited in the fire tax fund of
the Howard County Department of Fire and Rescue Services.

B. Fees shall be collected and processed in accordance with fiscal procedures established by the Howard County
Department of Finance for the collection, disbursement, and accounting of funds.


