County Council of Howard County, Maryland

2021 Legislative Session

Legislative day # 1

RESOLUTION NO. <u>15</u> - 2021

Introduced by: The Chairperson

A RESOLUTION appointing David Marker, Everlene Cunningham, McNeal Brown, Mahesh S. Kukata, Chris Oxenham, Ray Serrano, and Donna Hill Staton to the Councilmanic Redistricting Commission and naming Donna Hill Staton as the Chairperson of the Commission; and generally relating to Councilmanic Redistricting.

Introduced and read first time on, 2021.	
	By order — Diane Schwartz Jones, Administrator to the County Council
Read for a second time and a public hearing held on	, 2021.
	By order — Diane Schwartz Jones, Administrator to the County Council
This Resolution was read the third time and was Adopted, Adon, 2021.	dopted with amendments, Failed, Withdrawn by the County Council
	Certified by

NOTE: [[text in brackets]] indicates deletions from existing language; TEXT IN SMALL CAPITALS indicates additions to existing language. Strike-out indicates material deleted by amendment; <u>Underlining</u> indicates material added by amendment.

1	WHEREAS, Section 202(f) of the Howard County Charter requires the County Council,
2	after each decennial census, to promptly adopt a Resolution appointing a Councilmanic
3	Redistricting Commission; and
4	WHEREAS, the decennial census occurred in the year 2020; and
5	WHEREAS, the Councilmanic Redistricting Commission is to be made up of three
6	members nominated by the Central committee of each political party which polled at least twenty-
7	five percent of the total vote cast for all the candidates for Office of County Executive in the last
8	preceding general election plus one member appointed by the County Council; and
9	WHEREAS, the Central Committees of the Democratic and Republican parties in Howard
10	County are eligible and have each submitted three names; and
11	
12	WHEREAS, the Council is required to appoint the nominees submitted by the Central
13	Committees to the Commission plus one additional member of the Commission; and
14	
15	WHEREAS, the Council is required to appoint the Chairperson of the Commission from
16	among the Commission members.
17	NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED by the County Council of Howard County,
18	Maryland this day of, 2021 that the following persons are appointed as
19	members of the Councilmanic Redistricting commission to serve from the passage of this
20	resolution until February 28, 2022.
21	
22	The following persons have been nominated by the Central committee of the Democratic
23	Party:
24	David A. Marker
25	Columbia, Maryland
26	
27	Everlene Cunningham

1		Columbia, Maryland
2		
3		McNeal Brown
4		Columbia, Maryland
5		
6		The following persons have been nominated by the Central Committee of the Republican
7	Party:	
8		Mahesh S. Kukata
9		Ellicott City, Maryland
10		
11		Chris Oxenham
12		Woodbine, Maryland
13		
14		Ray Serrano
15		Columbia, Maryland
16		
17		The following person has been appointed by the Council:
18		Donna Hill Staton.
19		
20		The Chairperson of the Commission is Donna Hill Staton.