County Council of Howard County, Maryland

2021 Legislative Session

Legislative day # 3

RESOLUTION NO. <u>22</u> - 2021

Introduced by: Chairperson at the request of the County Executive

A RESOLUTION confirming the appointment of Geetha Jayaram to the Commission on Aging.

Introduced and read first time on, 2021.	
	By order Diane Schwartz Jones, Administrator to the County Council
Read for a second time and a public hearing held on	, 2021.
	By order Diane Schwartz Jones, Administrator to the County Council
This Resolution was read the third time and was Adopted, A on, 2021.	Adopted with amendments, Failed, Withdrawn by the County Council
	Certified by Diane Schwartz Jones, Administrator to the County Council

NOTE: [[text in brackets]] indicates deletions from existing language; TEXT IN SMALLCAPITALS indicates additions to existing language. Strike-out indicates material deleted by amendment; <u>Underlining</u> indicates material added by amendment.

1	WHEREAS, Section 404 of the Howard County Charter and Section 6.300 of the Howard
2	County Code provide for the County Executive to appoint and for the County Council to confirm
3	nominees to Howard County Boards and Commissions created by law; and
4	WHEREAS, Sections 6.313 and 12.501 of the Howard County Code provide for a
5	Commission on Aging in Howard County; and
6	WHEREAS, the County Executive has proposed the appointment of Geetha Jayaram as a
7	member of the Commission on Aging; and
8	
9	WHEREAS, an amendment to Section 404 of the County Charter, effective on or about
10	December 3, 2020, shortened the term for members of most citizen boards and commissions from
11	five to three years, including the Commission on Aging; and
12	WHEREAS, the County Council ratifies the County Executive's special trust and
13	confidence in the abilities of the nominee.
14	NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED by the County Council of Howard County,
15	Maryland this day of, 2021 that the following person is appointed as a
16	member of the Commission on Aging to serve from the passage of this Resolution to March 1,
17	2024 or until a successor is appointed and confirmed:
18	Geetha Jayaram
19	Marriottsville, MD