County Council of Howard County, Maryland

2021 Legislative Session

Legislative day # 1

RESOLUTION NO. 15 - 2021

Introduced by: The Chairperson

A RESOLUTION appointing David Marker, Everlene Cunningham, McNeal Brown, Mahesh S. Kukata, Chris Oxenham, Ray Serrano, and Donna Hill Staton to the Councilmanic Redistricting Commission, appointing Cynthia Fikes and Lili Shippe as alternates to the Councilmanic Redistricting Commission, and naming Donna Hill Staton as the Chairperson of the Commission; and generally relating to Councilmanic Redistricting.

Introduced and read first time on Tourney 4, 2021. By order Diane Schwartz Jones, Administrator to the County Council
Read for a second time and a public hearing held on San All Policy Agreement By order Diane Schwartz Jones, Administrator to the County Council
This Resolution was read the third time and was Adopted, Adopted with amendments K Failed, Withdrawn by the County Council on Kenny 3, 2021.
Certified by Diane Schwartz Jones, Administrator to the County Council

NOTE: [[text in brackets]] indicates deletions from existing language; TEXT IN SMALL CAPITALS indicates additions to existing language. Strike-out indicates material deleted by amendment; <u>Underlining</u> indicates material added by amendment.

1	WHEREAS, Section 202(f) of the Howard County Charter requires the County Council,
2	after each decennial census, to promptly adopt a Resolution appointing a Councilmanic
3	Redistricting Commission; and
4	WHEREAS, the decennial census occurred in the year 2020; and
5	WHEREAS, the Councilmanic Redistricting Commission is to be made up of three
6	members nominated by the Central committee of each political party which polled at least twenty-
7	five percent of the total vote cast for all the candidates for Office of County Executive in the last
8	preceding general election plus one member appointed by the County Council; and
9	WHEREAS, the Central Committees of the Democratic and Republican parties in Howard
10	County are eligible and have each submitted three names; and
11	
12	WHEREAS, the Council is required to appoint the nominees submitted by the Central
13	Committees to the Commission plus one additional member of the Commission; and
14	
15	WHEREAS, the Council is required to appoint the Chairperson of the Commission from
16	among the Commission members—;
17	"WHEREAS, an alternate to the Councilmanic Redistricting Commission does not
18	constitute a member of the Commission to be counted for purposes of a quorum of the
19	Commission until such time the alternate fills a vacancy on the Commission because of the
20	resignation of a Commission member, the death of a Commission member, or for any other
21	reason that a member is no longer serving on the Commission; and
22	
23	WHEREAS, in order to enable the Councilmanic Redistricting Commission to
24	complete its work within the required timeline, it is the intent of the Council to identify alternate
25	members in this Resolution so that in the event of a Commission vacancy, the work of the
26	Commission continues to move forward in a timely manner because: 1) the timeline to present a
27	Councilmanic Redistricting Plan to the Council is shorter than the timeline for previous
28	Commissions; 2) there will be a delay in Commission receipt of Census data; and 3) due to the

2 Commission will be conducted virtually until there is no longer a public health State of Emergency. NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED by the County Council of Howard County, 3 Maryland this 3 d day of Februy, 2021 that the following persons are appointed as members of the Councilmanic Redistricting commission to serve from the passage of this 4 5 resolution until February 28, 2022. 6 7 8 The following persons have been nominated by the Central committee of the Democratic 9 Party: David A. Marker 10 Columbia, Maryland 11 12 Everlene Cunningham 13 Columbia, Maryland 14 15 McNeal Brown 16 Columbia, Maryland 17 18 Cynthia Fikes, Alternate 19 20 Columbia, Maryland 21 The following persons have been nominated by the Central Committee of the Republican 22 Party: 23 Mahesh S. Kukata 24 25 Ellicott City, Maryland 26 27 Chris Oxenham Woodbine, Maryland 28 29 Ray Serrano 30

COVID-19 public health State of Emergency and social distancing directives, the work of the

1

1	Columbia, Maryland
2	
3	Lili Shippe, Alternate
4	Ellicott City, Maryland
5	•
6	The following person has been appointed by the Council:
7	Donna Hill Staton.
8	
9	The Chairperson of the Commission is Donna Hill Staton.

County Council of Howard County, Maryland

2021 Legislative Session

Legislative day # 1

RESOLUTION NO. <u>15</u> - 2021

Introduced by: The Chairperson

A RESOLUTION appointing David Marker, Everlene Cunningham, McNeal Brown, Mahesh S. Kukata, Chris Oxenham, Ray Serrano, and Donna Hill Staton to the Councilmanic Redistricting Commission and naming Donna Hill Staton as the Chairperson of the Commission; and generally relating to Councilmanic Redistricting.

By order Diane Schwartz Jones, Administrator to the County Council

Read for a second time and a public hearing held on Diane Schwartz Jones, Administrator to the County Council

By order Diane Schwartz Jones, Administrator to the County Council

This Resolution was read the third time and was Adopted__, Adopted with amendments X, Failed__, Withdrawn __ by the County Council on February 3__, 2021.

Certified by
Diane Schwartz Jones, Administrator to the County Council

NOTE: [[text in brackets] indicates deletions from existing language; TEXT IN SMALL CAPITALS indicates additions to existing language. Strike-out indicates material deleted by amendment; <u>Underlining</u> indicates material added by amendment.

1	WHEREAS, Section 202(f) of the Howard County Charter requires the County Council,
2	after each decennial census, to promptly adopt a Resolution appointing a Councilmanic
3	Redistricting Commission; and
4	WHEREAS, the decennial census occurred in the year 2020; and
5	WHEREAS, the Councilmanic Redistricting Commission is to be made up of three
6	members nominated by the Central committee of each political party which polled at least twenty-
7	five percent of the total vote cast for all the candidates for Office of county Executive in the last
8	preceding general election plus one member appointed by the County Council; and
9	WHEREAS, the Central Committees of the Democratic and Republican parties in Howard
10	County are eligible and have each submitted three names, and
11	
12	WHEREAS, the Council is required to appoint the nominees submitted by the Central
13	Committees to the Commission plus one additional member of the Commission; and
14	
15	WHEREAS, the Council is required to appoint the Chairperson of the Commission from
16	among the Commission members.
17	NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED by the County Council of Howard County,
18	Maryland this 3rd day of February, 2021 that the following persons are appointed as
19	members of the Councilmanic Redistricting commission to serve from the passage of this
20	resolution until February 28, 2022.
21	
22	The following persons have been nominated by the Central committee of the Democratic
23	Party:
24	David A. Marker
25	Columbia, Maryland
26	
27	Everlene Cunningham

1		Columbia, Maryland
2		
3		McNeal Brown
4		Columbia, Maryland
5		
6		The following persons have been nominated by the Central Committee of the Republican
7	Party:	
8		Mahesh S. Kukata
9		Ellicott City, Maryland
10		
11		Chris Oxenham
12		Woodbine, Maryland
13		
14		Ray Serrano
15		Columbia, Maryland
16		
17		The following person has been appointed by the Council:
18		Donna Hill Staton.
19		
20		The Chairperson of the Commission is Donna Hill Staton

