County Council of Howard County, Maryland

2021 Legislative Session

Legislative day #______

RESOLUTION NO. 51 - 2021

Introduced by: Chairperson at the request of the County Executive

A RESOLUTION confirming the reappointment of Yetta Roggerson to the Martin Luther King, Jr. Holiday Commission.

Introduced and read first time on February 3, 2021.	
	By order Theo Wimberly, Acting Administrator to the County Council
Read for a second time and a public hearing held on February	
This Resolution was read the third time and was Adopted . Ado on, 2021.	Certified by Theo Wimberly Acting Administrator to the County Council

NOTE: [[text in brackets]] indicates deletions from existing language; TEXT IN SMALL CAPITALS indicates additions to existing language. Strike-out indicates material deleted by amendment; <u>Underlining</u> indicates material added by amendment.

1	WHEREAS, Section 404 of the Howard County Charter and Section 6.300 of the Howard
2	County Code provide for the County Executive to appoint and for the County Council to confirm
3	nominees to Howard County Boards and Commissions created by law; and
4	WHEREAS, Section 6.344, Section 12.203 and Section 12.204 of the Howard County
5	Code provide for a Martin Luther King, Jr. Holiday Commission; and
6	WHEREAS, the County Executive has proposed the reappointment of Yetta Roggerson
7	as a member of the Martin Luther King, Jr. Holiday Commission; and
8	
9	WHEREAS, an amendment to Section 404 of the County Charter, effective on or about
10	December 3, 2020, shortened the term for members of most citizen boards and commissions from
11	five to three years, including the Martin Luther King, Jr. Holiday Commission; and
12	
13	WHEREAS, the County Council ratifies the County Executive's special trust and
14	confidence in the abilities of the nominee.
15	NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED by the County Council of Howard County,
16	Maryland this 2st day of Merch, 2021 that the following person is reappointed as
17	a member of the Martin Luther King, Jr. Holiday Commission to serve from the passage of this
18	Resolution to March 1, 2024 or until a successor is appointed and confirmed:
19	Yetta Roggerson
20	Columbia, Maryland