County Council of Howard County, Maryland

RESOLUTION NO. <u>19</u> - 2021

Introduced by: Chairperson at the request of the County Executive

A RESOLUTION confirming the appointment of Alexandra Berry to the Commission for Transitioning Students with Disabilities.

Introduced and read first time on Menseuf 3, 2021.	
	By order Theo Wimberly, Acting Administrator to the County Council
Read for a second time and a public hearing held on Khoe	Mb, 2021. By order
	Theo Wimberly, Acting Administrator to the County Council
This Resolution was read the third time and was Adopted, Adon, 2021.	opted with amendments, Failed, Withdrawn, by the County Council
	Certified by Theo Wimberly, Acting Administrator to the County Council
NOTE: [[text in brackets]] indicates deletions from existing lange Strike-out indicates material deleted by amendment; <u>Underlining</u>	uage; TEXTIN SMALL CAPITALS indicates additions to existing language indicates material added by amendment.

1	WHEREAS, Section 404 of the Howard County Charter and Section 6.300 of the Howard
2	County Code provide for the County Executive to appoint and for the County Council to confirm
3	nominees to Howard County Boards and Commissions created by law; and
4	WHEREAS, Section 6.343 and Title 12, Subtitle 20 of the Howard County Code provide
5	for a Commission for Transitioning Students with Disabilities; and
6	WHEREAS, the County Executive has proposed the appointment of Alexandra Berry as
7 8	a member of the Commission for Transitioning Students with Disabilities; and
9	WHEREAS, an amendment to Section 404 of the County Charter, effective on or about
10	December 3, 2020, shortened the term for members of most citizen boards and commissions from
11	five to three years, including the Commission for Transitioning Students with Disabilities; and
12	WHEREAS, the County Council ratifies the County Executive's special trust and
13	confidence in the abilities of the nominee.
14	NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED by the County Council of Howard County,
15	Maryland this
16	a member of the Commission for Transitioning Students with Disabilities to serve from the passage
17	of this Resolution to March 1, 2024 or until a successor is appointed and confirmed:
18	Alexandra Berry
19	Ellicott City, Maryland