County Council of Howard County, Maryland

2021 Legislative Session

Legislative day #15

RESOLUTION NO. <u>128</u> - 2021

Introduced by: Chairperson at the request of the County Executive

A RESOLUTION confirming the appointment of Brandon Kostinsky to the Historic Preservation Commission.

Introduced and read first time on, 2021.	
	By order
Read for a second time and a public hearing held on	, 2021.
	By order
This Resolution was read the third time and was Adopted, aon, 2021.	Adopted with amendments, Failed, Withdrawn by the County Council
	Certified by
	Michelle Harrod, Administrator to the County Council

NOTE: [[text in brackets]] indicates deletions from existing language; TEXT IN SMALL CAPITALS indicates additions to existing language. Strike-out indicates material deleted by amendment; <u>Underlining</u> indicates material added by amendment.

1	WHEREAS, Section 404 of the Howard County Charter and Section 6.300 of the Howard			
2	County Code provide for the County Executive to appoint and for the County Council to confirm			
3	nominees to Howard County Boards and Commissions created by law; and			
4	WHEREAS, Sections 6.324 and 16.604 of the Howard County Code and Title 8, Subtitle			
5	2 of the Land Use Article of the Annotated Code of Maryland provide for a Historic Preservation			
6	Commission in Howard County; and			
7	WHEREAS, the County Executive has proposed the appointment of Brandon Kostinsky			
8	as a member of the Historic Preservation Commission; and			
9				
10	WHEREAS, an amendment to Section 404 of the County Charter, effective on or about			
11	December 3, 2020, shortened the term for members of most citizen boards and commissions from			
12	five to three years, including the Historic Preservation Commission; and			
13				
14	WHEREAS, the County Council ratifies the County Executive's special trust and			
15	confidence in the abilities of the nominee.			
16	NOW, THEREFO	ORE, BE IT RI	ESOLVED by the County Council of Howard County,	
17	Maryland this	day of	, 2021 that the following person is appointed as a	
18	member of the Historic Preservation Commission to serve from the passage of this Resolution to			
19	October 4, 2024 or until a successor is appointed and confirmed:			
20	Brandon Kostinsky			
21	Ellicott City, Maryland			