County Council of Howard County, Maryland

2021 Legislative Session

Legislative day # 16

RESOLUTION NO. <u>152</u> - 2021

Introduced by: Chairperson at the request of the County Executive

A RESOLUTION confirming the appointment of Sherine Hargrove to the Commission for Women.

Introduced and read first time on $October 4$ 2021.
By order <u>McMulu</u> , <u>Dessod</u> Michelle Harrod, Administrator to the Council
Read for a second time and a public hearing held on October 18, 2021. By order Michelle Harrod, Administrator to the County Council
This Resolution was read the third time and was Adopted , Adopted with amendments , Failed , Withdrawn by the County Council on, 2021.
Certified by Michelle Harrod, Administrator to the County Council

NOTE: [[text in brackets]] indicates deletions from existing language; TEXTIN SMALL CAPITALS indicates additions to existing language. Strike-out indicates material deleted by amendment; <u>Underlining</u> indicates material added by amendment.

1	WHEREAS, Section 404 of the Howard County Charter and Section 6.300 of the Howard	
2	County Code provide for the County Executive to appoint and for the County Council to confirm	
3	nominees to Howard County Boards and Commissions created by law; and	
4	WHEREAS, Sections 6.333 and 12.700 through 12.702 of the Howard County Code	
5	provide for a Commission for Women in Howard County; and	
6	WHEREAS, the County Executive has proposed the appointment of Sherine Hargrove as	
7	a member of the Commission for Women; and	
8		
9	WHEREAS, an amendment to Section 404 of the County Charter, effective on or about	
10	December 3, 2020, shortened the term for members of most citizen boards and commissions from	
11	five to three years, including the Commission for Women; and	
12	WHEREAS, the County Council ratifies the County Executive's special trust and	
13	confidence in the abilities of the nominee.	
14	NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED by the County Council of Howard County.	

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED by the County Council of Howard County,
Maryland this ______ day of ______ day of ______ 2021 that the following person is appointed as a
member of the Commission for Women to serve from the passage of this Resolution to November
1, 2023 or until a successor is appointed and confirmed:

18	Sherine Hargrove
19	Clarksville, Maryland