

HOWARD COUNTY HUMAN RIGHTS COMMISSION

9820 Patuxent Woods Drive, Suite 237 Columbia, Maryland 21046 FAX 410-313-6468

410-313-6430 Voice/Relay

Yolanda F. Sonnier, Executive Secretary Melissa Goldmeier, Legal Counsel HRC Email: hrc@howardcountymd.gov

Scott B Markow, Chairperson
Jonah Hornum, Vice Chair
Nina Basu, Commissioner
Chuen-Chin Bianca Chang, Commissioner
Lynda Earle, Commissioner
Bob Ford, Commissioner
Joan Hash, Commissioner
Peter Hwang, Commissioner
Tiffany Releford, Commissioner
Gabriel Terrasa, Commissioner
Kui Zhao, Commissioner

October 30, 2022

VIA EMAIL (councilmail@howardcountymd.gov)

Opel Jones, Council Chair Christiana Rigby, Council Vice Chair Deb Jung. Council Member Liz Walsh, Council Member David Yungmann, Council Member

Re: Testimony in Support CB72-2022

Dear Council Members:

The Howard County Human Rights Commission strongly supports and urges the passage of CB72-2022, which creates an Asian American and Pacific Islander ("AAPI") Commission. This bill follows the recommendation of the AAPI Workgroup, which was formed by the County Executive in February 2021. For eighteen months, the AAPI Workgroup explored ways to improve communication with and combat discrimination against members of the AAPI community. In its March 2021 final report, the AAPI Workgroup recommended the formation of a permanent Commission to continue to address the needs of the AAPI community.

Establishing a permanent AAPI Commission will ensure the AAPI community has a consistent voice in the Howard County government and the larger community. The AAPI Commission will be able to continue and build upon the important work of the AAPI Workgroup. This will help promote the interests of the AAPI community in our County. It will also help combat discrimination against members of this community, thus fostering a more inclusive and equitable society. Therefore, we urge the County Council to pass and the County Executive to sign CB72-2022.

Sincerely,

Scott B. Markow, Chair Human Rights Commission

Yolanda F. Sonnier, OHRE Administrator; HRC Commission