County Council of Howard County, Maryland

2024 Legislative Session

Legislative day # 4

RESOLUTION NO. <u>36</u> - 2024

Introduced by: Chairperson	at the request of	the County Executive
----------------------------	-------------------	----------------------

Short Title: Reappointment – Dr. Abbie Diane Martin – Martin Luther King, Jr. Holiday Commission

Title: A RESOLUTION confirming the reappointment of Dr. Abbie Diane Martin to the Martin Luther King, Jr. Holiday Commission.

Introduced and read first time on, 2024	
	By order Michelle Harrod, Administrator to the County Council
Read for a second time and a public hearing held on	, 2024.
	By orderMichelle Harrod, Administrator to the County Council
This Resolution was read the third time and was Adopted, on, 2024.	Adopted with amendments, Failed, Withdrawn by the County Council
	Certified by Michelle Harrod, Administrator to the County Council

NOTE: [[text in brackets]] indicates deletions from existing language; TEXT IN SMALL CAPITALS indicates additions to existing language. Strike-out indicates material deleted by amendment; <u>Underlining</u> indicates material added by amendment.

1	WHEREAS, Section 404 of the Howard County Charter and Section 6.300 of the Howard
2	County Code provide for the County Executive to appoint and for the County Council to confirm
3	nominees to Howard County Boards and Commissions created by law; and
4	WHEREAS, Section 6.344, Section 12.203 and Section 12.204 of the Howard County
5	Code provide for a Martin Luther King, Jr. Holiday Commission; and
6	WHEREAS, the County Executive has proposed the reappointment of Dr. Abbie Diane
7	Martin as a member of the Martin Luther King, Jr. Holiday Commission; and
8	WHEREAS, the County Council ratifies the County Executive's special trust and
9	confidence in the abilities of the nominee.
10	NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED by the County Council of Howard County,
11	Maryland this day of, 2024 that the following person is reappointed as
12	a member of the Martin Luther King, Jr. Holiday Commission to serve from the passage of this
13	Resolution to May 6, 2027 or until a successor is appointed and confirmed:
14	Dr. Abbie Diane Martin
15	Columbia, Maryland