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1 WHEREAS, Section 4.304 of the Howard County Code provides that unclaimed

2 property may be turned over to the finder upon the finder's payment of the cost of advertising;

3 and

4

5 WHEREAS, Section 4.31 0 of the Howard County Code authorizes the County Executive

6 to dispose of forfeited motor vehicles to the owner of the vehicle under certain circumstances

7 and authorizes the County Council to set, by resolution, a fee for towing, storage, and

8 maintenance of lawfully seized vehicles; and

9

10 WHEREAS, Section 17.713(d) of the Howard County Code requires the County Council

11 to adopt fees for the failure to pay fines related to false alarms from residential and commercial

12 alarm systems or the failure to register such systems; and

13

14 WHEREAS, Section 17.301 of the Howard County Code requires the County Council to

15 adopt a resolution setting fees for animal control services; and

16

17 WHEREAS, Section 21.301(h) of the Howard County Code requires the County Council

18 to annually adopt, by Resolution, maximum rates to be charged by a tow operator under the

19 Accident Tow Program, and

20

21 WHEREAS, Section 1 -311 of the Public Safety Article of the Annotated Code of

22 Maryland authorizes the counties of Maryland to impose charges of up to 750 per month to each

23 telephone bill to pay for operation and maintenance of the county's 911 emergency telephone

24 system; and

25

26 WHEREAS, pursuant to Section 4-206 of the General Provisions Article of the

27 Annotated Code of Maryland, the official custodian may charge a reasonable fee for the search,

28 preparation and reproduction of public records and the Police Department charges reasonable

29 fees for certain types of records provided to the public including, without limitation, photograph

30 development and police report reproduction; and



1 WHEREAS, Section 17.905 of the County Code provides that application fees and

2 permit fees for special events and concerts shall be set by Resolution of the County Council; and

3

4 WHEREAS, Section 17.322(h) of the County Code provides that a nonrefundable

5 application fee and a license fee for a Private Animal Shelter license shall be adopted by

6 Resolution of the County Council; and

7

8 WHEREAS, for Fiscal Year 2025, there are changes proposed to some of the Animal

9 Control fees which are based on our vendor's pricing.

10

11 NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, by the County Council of Howard County,

12 Maryland this <^^ day ofJ^Uj_, 2024 that it adopts the attached schedule of fees.

13

14 AND BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that the fee schedule shall be effective July 1,

15 2024 and shall continue in effect until changed or repealed by subsequent Resolution of the

16 County Council.



ADVERTISING FEE FOR UNCLAIMED PROPERTY

This fee is set pursuant to Section 4.304 of the Howard County Code that provides

that unclaimed property may be turned over to the finder upon

the finder's payment of the cost of advertising.

Advertising fee for each item of claimed property $70

TOWING AND STORAGE CHARGES - VEHICLES SEIZED BY POLICE

This fee is set pursuant to Section 4.310 of the Howard County Code

that authorizes the County Council to set, by resolution,

a fee for towing, storage, and maintenance

of lawfully seized vehicles.

Towing, storage and maintenance of $275
lawfully seized vehicles

FEE FOR FAILURE TO PAY FINE
IMPOSED UNDER ALARM SYSTEM LAW

This fee is set pursuant to Section 17.712 of the Howard

County Code, that requires the County Council to set fees

for the failure to pay a fine imposed under the

law that regulates alarm systems in the county.

Failure to pay fine.

$10.00 for each month or fraction of a month until the penalty is satisfied.

1



ANIMAL CONTROL FEES
These fees are set pursuant to Section 17.301 of the Howard County

Code, which provides that the County Council shall approve a

schedule of fees for animal control services.

SERVICE
Impoundment

First occurrence

Subsequent occurrences

Daily Board
Small animal (1-20 Ibs)
Medium animal (21-50 Ibs)
Large animal (over 50 Ibs)
Special care

Distemper Vaccination

Rabies Vaccination

Flea Treatment

Trap Deposit
Small animal
Large animal

Small animal carrier

Euthanasia

Disposal of remains

Trapped wildlife
Spay/Neuter Deposit

Male dog
Female dog
Male cat

Female cat

Hearhvorm test

Feline Leukemia/FIV test
Fecal check

Bath

FEE

$25
$75

$12
$15
$18
$18
$9

[[$10]]$20
$10

$40
$40
$3

$15
$25
$10

[[$110]]$165*
[[$125]]$210*
[[$60]]$92*
[[$80]]$130*

$7*
[[$15]]$20*

$30*
$40*

* Fee depends on vendor prices. For these services, the Animal Control Division may charge

additional fees up to the cost of providing the service.

* A *

Private Animal Shelter License Fees
These fees are set pursuant to Section 17.322(h) of the Howard County

Code, which provides that a nonrefimdable application fee and a license fee for a Private Animal

Shelter license shall be adopted by Resolution of the County Council

Nonrefundable application fee

Private Animal Shelter License Fee

$50

$50



MAXIMUM RATES FOR ACCIDENT TOWING

These charges are set pursuant to Section 21.301(h) of the Howard County Code which
requires the County Council to set the maximum rates that a tow operator

may charge for towing under the Accident Tow Program

Fees applicable to both Class I and Class II vehicle tows:

Towing a vehicle when the vehicle's keys are not available (per tow) $25.00

Taping of any vehicle windows (per vehicle side) or front or rear
windshield $10.00

Extra people, when needed, and verified by the police officer at the
scene (per tow, justification shall be placed on the tow receipt for review) $25.00

Inclement weather surcharge which shall only be charged during
a declared snow emergency by the state and/or county (calculated based on
towing fee but not additional fees authorized by this section) 25%

Administrative Fee $50.00
(A one-time administrative fee shall only be charged when vehicle's owner
has not claimed, or arranged to claim their vehicle within three
business days (business day is any day the company is regularly
open for reclaiming vehicles).)

Fees applicable to Class II vehicle tows:
(A Class II vehicle is a vehicle that weighs up to 10,000 pounds gross vehicle weight.)

Straight and/or roll-back towing of motorcycles and
vehicles including trucks $200.00

Winching of vehicles (fee is per hour, to be calculated
in 1/2 hour increments) $130.00

Extra trucks, when needed, (per tow Justification shall
be placed on the tow receipt for review) $85.00

Charge for towing each mile beyond 30 miles (fee per mile) $10.00

Storage per day, or part thereof, cominencing at 12:01 a.m.

on the first calendar day after being towed, including days that
the tow company is closed $40.00

Release of vehicle during non-business hours (flat fee) $50.00

Fees applicable to Class I vehicle tows:
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(A Class I vehicle is a vehicle that weighs over 10,000 pounds gross vehicle weight.)

County or Private Class I Vehicles

Straight Truck (per hour including recovery/winching) $475.00

Trailer (per hour including recovery/winching) $400.00

Tractor/trailer combination (per hour including
recovery/winching) $600.00

Storage per day, or part thereof, per piece commencing at

12:01 a.m. on the first calendar day after being towed,
including days that the tow company is closed $90.00

Release of vehicle during non-business hours (flat fee) $50.00

Charge for towing each mile beyond 30 miles (fee per mile) $ 10.00

Extra trucks, when needed, (per tow, justification shall
be placed on the tow receipt for review) $160.00



CHARGE ON TELEPHONE BILLS FOR SUPPORT OF 911 SYSTEM

This fee is set pursuant to Section 1-311 of the Public Safety Article of the

Annotated Code of Maryland that authorizes the counties of

Maryland to impose charges of up to 75<f: per month on each
telephone bill to pay for operation and maintenance of the

County's 911 emergency telephone system.

Charge per month paid by subscribers to

switched local exchange access service 75^,

Charge per month paid by subscribers to

wireless telephone service, except for prepaid wireless 75^

Per Section 1-311 of the Public Safety Article of the Annotated Code of Maryland, the County

charge shall not apply to prepaid wireless telecommunications service. Section 1-313 of the
Public Safety Article of the Annotated Code of Maryland establishes a prepaid wireless 9-1-1 fee

of $0.60 per transaction to be collected by the State.



DOCUMENTS AND INFORMATION PROVIDED TO THE PUBLIC

These fees are set pursuant to Section 4-206 of the General Provisions Article of the Annotated

Code of Maryland which provides that the official custodian may charge a reasonable fee for the
search, preparation and reproduction of a public record.

Price per page, for paper copies,
except as provided otherwise below: $ .25 for black and white

$ .50 for color

Police Department Incident Report Reproduction

Retrieval of incident reports older than 2-years
$10.00 per copy
$19.80

Photograph development: Size
4x5
5x7
8x10
11x14

Photograph
$2.00
$4.00
$8.00
$10.00

Flash drive $10 each

Search and Preparation of Public Records

In addition to any reproduction fees, the Department may charge fees for the search and

preparation of public records, provided that no fee may be charged for the first two hours

of search and preparation, and provided that the fee charged may not exceed the

Department's actual cost of search and preparation.

NOTWITHSTANDING THE FEES LISTED, IF THE ACTUAL COST OF A SERVICE OR PRODUCT THE

DEPARTMENT PROVIDES IS DIFFERENT, THE DEPARTMENT MAY CHARGE A DIFFERENT FEE
FOR THE PRODUCT OR SERVICE, PROVIDED THAT THE FEE CHARGED MAY NOT EXCEED THE

DEPARTMENT'S ACTUAL COST TO PROVIDE THE PRODUCT OR SERVICE.

Electronic copies

Unless otherwise provided by the Maryland Public Information Act:

1. Electronic copies shall be provided when the record is routinely kept by the Department

in an electronic format unless the requester specifies paper copies;

2. The Department may, but need not, convert paper records to electronic records; and

3. Where an electronic response, or portion thereof, is too large to send electronically, the

Department shall convert the response, or portion thereof, to paper, cd, DVD, or flash

drive, as the requester specifies.



FEES FOR SPECIAL EVENT AND CONCERT PERMITS

This fee is set pursuant to Section 17.905 of the Howard County Code

that allows the County to charge an application fee and permit fees.

I. Application Fees

A. Non-refundable Application Fee for a Special Event: $50.00

B. Non-refundable Application Fee for a Concert: $200.00

II. Permit Fees

Permit Fee for Special Events' [[(Effective beginning January 1, 2019)]]: Cost to the
County to be computed as follows:

$64.81 times the number of estimated hours of service for each employee of the County

providing services to support the event, subject to the following:

When the event promoter is a Nonprofit Organization

Fee estimated to be $1,500 or less - No Charge

Fee exceeds $1,500 - Applicant shall pay 50% of the amount that exceeds

$1,500

When the event promoter is a For-Profit Organization

Applicant shall pay 100% of the Fee

' Note that parades and block parties are exempt from permit fees under Section 17.905 of the

Code. The County may exempt an applicant from a permit or application fee, or both, if the
County determines that such a waiver is in the best interest of the County.
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