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1 WHEREAS, Section 6-206(b) of the Public Safety Article of the Annotated Code of

2 Maiyland authorizes the State Fire Prevention Commission to adopt fees for reviewing building

3 plans and conducting inspections; and

4

5 WHEREAS, Sections 9-701 and 9-702 of the Public Safety Article of the Annotated

6 Code of Maryland authorize a local governing body to adopt a fire prevention code and to

7 establish and administer a fee schedule for conducting inspections and plan review; and

8

9 WHEREAS, Howard County has adopted a fire prevention code, as codified in Title 17,

10 Subtitle 1 of the Howard County Code, which authorizes the adoption of fees; and

11

12 WHEREAS, the Code of Maryland Regulations at Chapter 29.06.04 (the "State

13 Regulations") provides that the State's Fire Prevention Commission's Fees for Fire Prevention

14 Services can be used, amended, or referenced by a County that chooses to establish its own fee

15 schedule; and

16

17 WHEREAS, rates were last adopted by passage of Council Resolution No. 80-2023 and

18 there are no changes recommended for Fiscal Year 2025.

19

20 NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED by the County Council of Howard County,

21 Maryland this 22- daY of M^-f _, 2024 that, pursuant to State Regulations that allow

22 local jurisdictions to use, amend, or reference the State's Fire Prevention Commission's Fees for

23 Fire Prevention Services, it adopts the Schedule of Fees for Fire Safety Inspections, as shown in

24 the attached Exhibit A.

25

26 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the fee schedule shall be effective July 1, 2024 and

27 shall continue in effect until changed or repealed by subsequent resolution.

28



EXHIBIT A

I Fees for Fire Safety Inspections

A. This fee schedule has been adopted by County Council Resolution No._-2024 pursuant to the authority set forth in
Title 17, Subtitle 1 of the Howard County Code and the State of Maryland Fire Prevention Code (C.O.M.A.R. Title
29, Subtitle 06, Chapter 4).

B. This schedule will be used to calculate the fee to be paid for a fire safety inspection conducted by the Howard County
Department of Fire and Rescue Services. Specific testing of certain specialized fire protection systems and equipment

may be required by qualified maintenance personnel or a contractor at the owner's expense.

C. The following fees will be applied upon the occupancy classification for the building as defined and classified by the
National Fire Protection Association (NFPA) 101 Life Safety Code. In the case of mixed occupancies when it is
impractical to distinguish the individual occupancy classifications, the occupancy classification is based on the
predominant use and occupancy of the building structure. Use Section 3.3.190 when determining the occupancy type.

1) Assembly Occupancies
a) 1,001 or more individuals $360
b) 301 to 1,000 individuals $240
c) 50 to 300 individuals $120
d) Fairgrounds for properties with:

i) Nine buildings or less $240
ii) Ten buildings or more $480

2) Educational Occupancy
a) Elementary schools $ 1 20

(includes kindergarten and pre-kindergarten facilities)
b) Middle or Junior High Schools $180
c) Senior High Schools $180

3) Daycares
a) Family or Group Daycare Homes

i) Initial Inspection $75.00
ii) Renewal Inspection $50.00

b) Nursery or Daycare Centers $100.00

4) Health Care Occupancy
a) Ambulatory Health Care Centers

i) Over 30,000 sq. feet $500.00
ii) 3,000 to 30,000 sq. feet $350.00
iii) less than 3,000 sq. feet $ 180

b) Hospitals, Nursing Homes and limited care facilities $120
per bldg., plus $2.50 per bed

5) Detention and Correctional Occupancy $120
per bldg., plus $2.50 per rated bed

6) Residential Occupancy
a) Hotel and Motel $120

per bldg., plus $2.50 per guest room/suite

b) Dormitory $120



c) Apartment

d) Lodging or Rooming House

e) One & Two Family Dwelling
Including alternative living units and Foster Care

f) Board & Care Homes

7) Mercantile Occupancy

a) Class A - over 30,000 sq. feet

b) Class B - 3, 000 to 30,000 sq. feet
c) Class C - less than 3,000 sq. feet

8) Business Occupancy

a) Over 30,000 sq. feet

b) 3,000 to 30,000 sq. feet
c) less than 3,000 sq. feet

9) Industrial or Storage Occupancy

a) Over 30,000 sq. feet
b) 3,000 to 30,000 sq. feet
c) less than 3,000 sq. feet

per bldg., plus $2.50 per bed
$120
per bldg., plus $2.50 per apartment

$120
per bldg., plus $2.50 per bed
$75.00

$120 per bldg., plus $2.50 per bed

$300
$150
$100

$500.00
$250.00
$120.00

$500.00
$250.00
$120.00

10) IVIanufactured Home Site and Communities

11) Campgrounds
a) Vehicular

b) With Sleeping Accommodations

c) Without Sleeping Accommodations

12) Outside storage ofcombustible materials
(Ex: scrap tire, lumber, mulch, tree stumps, etc.)

$120 per facility, plus $2.50 per site

$120
per facility, plus $2.50 per campsite
$180
per facility, plus $2.50 per bed
$120 per facility

$60 (Per acre or fraction of an acre)

13) Outside storage of flammable or combustible liquids/gases $ 1 20
(Ex: drums or tanks) (Per 5,000 sq. feet or fraction of 5,000 sq. feet)

14) Marinas and Piers

15) Mobile Food

$120, plus $1.50 per slip

Annual fee $75
One day fee $45

Re-inspection $45

16) Permits

A) HAZMAT Inspections Type I-$1,000.00 annually

Type II- $400.00 annually
Type III- $250.00 annually



Type IV- $100.00 annually
Type V-$ 100.00 annually

If you have a seasonal pool that is open no more than 120 consecutive days, your fees would be 50% of the permit

fee.

B) Tires Tier 1-$500.00 annually
Tier 2-$325.00 annually
Tier 3-$150.00 annually

C) Permit Late Fees
A. 30 days beyond the filing date will be assessed a 10% late fee plus the original permit fee.
B. 60 days beyond the filing date will be assessed a 20% late fee plus the original permit fee.
C. 90 days beyond the filing date will be assessed a 50% late fee plus the original permit fee.
D. 180 days beyond the filing date will be assessed a 100% late fee plus the original permit fee.

17) Contractor Portal $6/ per report submitted

• Impaired systems and critical deficiencies must be reported within 48 hours.

• Systems that pass, or that have non-critical deficiencies, must be reported within 14 days.

• Portal late submittals constitute a Class A violation and will be subject to a $ 1,000 per day penalty which
shall be assessed for each day beyond the required filing date, in addition to the original submittal fee.

18) BUILDING SHELL $ 1 20

19) SUMMER CAMP $120

20) Reinspections
First Reinspection No charge
Second and subsequent reinspection (first is free) $200

II Fees for Technical Assistance, Unclassified Inspections, and Special Events

A. The fee schedule below shall be used to calculate the fee for Howard County Department of Fire and Rescue Services

to provide technical assistance or unclassified inspections, to include special events, in the form of plan review or on-

site inspections.

B. A separate technical assistance fee shall be charged at the following rate and prorated to the nearest Vi hour:

1) Deputy Fire Marshal or Fire Safety Inspector $75.00 per hour
2) Fire Protection Engineer $100.00 per hour

C. Travel time to and from a meeting or inspection site shall be included when computing the fee.

D. When requested, a reasonable time to prepare written reports or research subsequent code related issues shall be

included when computing fees.

E. The fee shall be charged to the person officially requesting assistance and shall be payable upon receipt of an itemized

invoice submitted in accordance with administrative procedures established by fire authorities.



F. Failure to pay the fee within the required time shall result in appropriate administrative or legal action. Further plan

review or inspection action may not take place until the fee is paid in full. This may result in a delay of the issuance

of a building permit, or use and occupancy permit for the building or facility.

Ill Fee Payment for Fire Safety Inspections

A. Fees for fire safety inspections are payable upon receipt of an invoice from the Howard County Department of

Finance upon completion of the inspection. Failure to pay this fee within the specified time may result in:

a) Administrative or legal action;
b) No further inspection activity;
c) Denial of the issuance or renewal of a permit or license held by the facility being inspected;
d) Violation of Public Safety Article 6-601,6-317,9-109,9-206,9-905, Annotated Code of Maryland.

B. The fire safety inspection fee may not be charged if the inspection is conducted in response to a specific complaint

regarding an alleged violation of the Howard County Fire Prevention Code.

C. Payment Method

Fee payments shall be in the form of a credit card, check, or money order payable to the Howard County

Director of Finance. The payee is responsible for all fees that may include, but not be limited to, cancelled

checks, service fees/charges related to the payment.

b) Cash payment is not acceptable.

IV Disposition of Fees

A. Fees collected by the Howard County Department of Finance for inspections shall be deposited in the fire tax fund of

the Howard County Department of Fire and Rescue Services.

B. Fees shall be collected and processed in accordance with fiscal procedures established by the Howard County

Department of Finance for the collection, disbursement, and accounting of funds.


