County Council of Howard County, Maryland

2024 Legislative Session

Legislative day #<u>11</u>

RESOLUTION NO. <u>143</u> - 2024

Introduced by: Chairperson at the request of the County Executive

Short Title: Appointment–Toyin Opesanmi, M.D- Adult-Use Cannabis Advisory Panel

Title: A RESOLUTION confirming the appointment of Toyin Opesanmi, M.D, to the Adult-Use Cannabis Advisory Panel.

Introduced and read first time on, 20	024.
	By orderMichelle Harrod, Administrator to the County Council
Read for a second time and a public hearing held on	ct 21, 2024.
	By order Muchilly Garrad
	Michelle Harrod, Administrator to the County Council
This Resolution was read the third time and was Adopted County Council on, 2024.	Certified by <u>Muthanian Advantation</u> Michelle Harrod, Administrator to the County Council

NOTE: [[text in brackets]] indicates deletions from existing language; TEXT IN SMALL CAPITALS indicates additions to existing language. Strike-out indicates material deleted by amendment; <u>Underlining</u> indicates material added by amendment.

1	WHEREAS, Section 404 of the Howard County Charter and Section 6.300 of the Howard
2	County Code provide for the County Executive to appoint and for the County Council to confirm
3	nominees to Howard County Boards and Commissions created by law; and

- WHEREAS, Sections 6.350 and Subtitle 24 of Title 12 of the Howard County Code
 provide for an Adult-Use Cannabis Advisory Panel in Howard County; and
- WHEREAS, the County Executive has proposed the appointment of Toyin Opesanmi,
 M.D, as a member of the Adult-Use Cannabis Advisory Panel; and

8 WHEREAS, the County Council ratifies the County Executive's special trust and 9 confidence in the abilities of the nominee.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED by the County Council of Howard County,
 Maryland this <u>4</u> day of <u>Vocender</u>, 2024 that the following person is appointed as a
 member of the Adult-Use Cannabis Advisory Panel to serve from the passage of this Resolution
 to November 4, 2027 or until a successor is appointed and confirmed:

14	Toyin Opesanmi, M.D
15	Clarksville, MD