County Council of Howard County, Maryland

2025 Legislative Session

Legislative day # 2

RESOLUTION NO. <u>16</u> - 2025

Introduced by: Chairperson at the request of the County Executive

Short Title: Appointment – Jennifer-NeToi Claiborne – Martin Luther King, Jr. Holiday Commission

Title: A RESOLUTION confirming the appointment of Jennifer-NeToi Claiborne to the Martin Luther King, Jr. Holiday Commission.

Introduced and read first time on, 2025.	
	By order Michelle Harrod, Administrator to the County Council
Read for a second time and a public hearing held on	, 2025.
	By order Michelle Harrod, Administrator to the County Council
This Resolution was read the third time and was Adopted, Adopted, 2025.	pted with amendments, Failed, Withdrawn by the County Council
	Certified by Michelle Harrod, Administrator to the County Council

NOTE: [[text in brackets]] indicates deletions from existing language; TEXT IN SMALL CAPITALS indicates additions to existing language. Strike-out indicates material deleted by amendment; <u>Underlining</u> indicates material added by amendment.

1	WHEREAS, Section 404 of the Howard County Charter and Section 6.300 of the Howard	
2	County Code provide for the County Executive to appoint and for the County Council to confirm	
3	nominees to Howard County Boards and Commissions created by law; and	
4	WHEREAS, Section 6.344, Section 12.203 and Section 12.204 of the Howard County	
5	Code provide for a Martin Luther King, Jr. Holiday Commission; and	
ſ	WHEDEAS the County Exception has an encoded the apprintment of Israifan NaTai	
6		
7	Claiborne as a member of the Martin Luther King, Jr. Holiday Commission; and	
8	WHEREAS, the County Council ratifies the County Executive's special trust and	
9	confidence in the abilities of the nominee.	
10	NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED by the County Council of Howard County,	
11	Maryland this day of, 2025 that the following person is appointed as a	
12	member of the Martin Luther King, Jr. Holiday Commission to serve from the passage of this	
13	Resolution to March 3, 2028 or until a successor is appointed and confirmed:	
14	Jennifer-NeToi Claiborne	
15	Columbia, Maryland	