## County Council of Howard County, Maryland

2009 Legislative Session

Legislative day #8

## **RESOLUTION NO. 60 - 2009**

Introduced by: Chairperson at the request of the County Executive

A RESOLUTION approving a list of Howard County residents to be sent to the Governor, in accordance with State law, so that the Governor may choose one of the residents from the list to fill a vacancy on the Property Tax Assessment Appeal Board.

Introduced and read first time on July 6 , 2009.
By order Stephen LeGendre, Administrator to the County Council
Read for a second time and a public hearing held on
Table & July 30, 2009  By order Stephen LeGendre, Administrator to the County Council
This Resolution was read the third time and was Adopted, Adopted with amendments, Failed, Withdrawn by the County Council on, 2009.
Certified by

NOTE: [[text in brackets]] indicates deletions from existing language; TEXT IN SMALL CAPITALS indicates additions to existing language. Strike-out indicates material deleted by amendment; <u>Underlining</u> indicates material added by amendment.

1	WHEREAS, Section 404 of the Howard County Charter and Section 6.300 of the
2	Howard County Code provide for the County Executive to appoint and for the County Council to
3	confirm nominees to Howard County Boards and Commissions created by law; and
4	WHEREAS, Sections 3-102 through 3-107 of the Tax-Property Article of the Annotated
5	Code of Maryland provide for a Property Tax Assessment Appeal Board in Howard County; and
6	also provide that the County must submit three names to the Governor for each vacancy on the
7	Board; and
8	WHEREAS, the County Executive has proposed the that the names of George A. Ford,
9	Jr., Michelle Baker and Sara Hammer be submitted to the Governor for appointment as a
10	member of the Property Tax Assessment Appeal Board; and
11	WHEREAS, the County Council ratifies the County Executive's special trust and
12	confidence in the abilities of the nominees.
13	NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED by the County Council of Howard County,
14	Maryland this 15T day of September, 2009 that the following names are approved for
15	submission to the Governor for approval as an alternate member to the Property Tax Assessment
16	Appeal Board to serve from the passage of this Resolution to June 1, 2013 or until a successor is
17	appointed and confirmed:
18	George A. Ford, Jr.
19	10722 Autumn Splendor Dr
20	Columbia, MD 21044
21	Michelle Baker
22	5348 Eliots Oak Road
23	Columbia, MD 21044
24	Sara Hamer
25	4021 Bright Rocket Way
26	Ellicott City, MD 21042