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1 

 WHEREAS, Section 4.304 of the Howard County Code provides that unclaimed 1 

property may be turned over to the finder upon the finder's payment of the cost of advertising; 2 

and  3 

 4 

 WHEREAS, Section 4.310 of the Howard County Code authorizes the County Executive 5 

to dispose of forfeited motor vehicles to the owner of the vehicle under certain circumstances 6 

and authorizes the County Council to set, by resolution, a fee for towing, storage, and 7 

maintenance of lawfully seized vehicles; and  8 

 9 

WHEREAS, Section 17.713(d) of the Howard County Code requires the County Council 10 

to adopt fees for the failure to pay fines related to false alarms from residential and commercial 11 

alarm systems or the failure to register such systems; and  12 

 13 

 WHEREAS, Section 17.301 of the Howard County Code requires the County Council to 14 

adopt a resolution setting fees for animal control services; and  15 

 16 

 WHEREAS, Section 21.301(h) of the Howard County Code requires the County Council 17 

to annually adopt, by Resolution, maximum rates to be charged by a tow operator under the 18 

Accident Tow Program, and  19 

 20 

 WHEREAS, Section 1-311 of the Public Safety Article of the Annotated Code of 21 

Maryland authorizes the counties of Maryland to impose charges of up to 75¢ per month to each 22 

telephone bill to pay for operation and maintenance of the county's 911 emergency telephone 23 

system; and 24 

 25 

 WHEREAS, pursuant to Section 4-206 of the General Provisions Article of the 26 

Annotated Code of Maryland, the official custodian may charge a reasonable fee for the search, 27 

preparation and reproduction of public records and the Police Department charges reasonable 28 

fees for certain types of records provided to the public including, without limitation, 911 tape 29 

reproduction, photograph development, police report reproduction, and specific crime analysis 30 

reports that require statistical analysis and research; and 31 
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 WHEREAS, the Police Department provides fingerprinting services to applicants for 

certain county licenses; and  

 

 WHEREAS, the County Executive has proposed the adoption of the attached fee 

schedules for functions of the Department of Police.  

 

 NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, by the County Council of Howard County, 

Maryland this ____ day of ___________, 2016 that it adopts the attached schedule of fees.  

 

 AND BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that the fee schedule shall be effective July 1, 

2016 and shall continue in effect until changed or repealed by subsequent Resolution of the 

County Council. 
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ADVERTISING FEE FOR UNCLAIMED PROPERTY 

 

This fee is set pursuant to Section 4.304 of the Howard County Code that provides  

that unclaimed property may be turned over to the finder upon 

the finder's payment of the cost of advertising. 

 

Advertising fee for each item of claimed property   $28 

 

 

 

 

 
TOWING AND STORAGE CHARGES – VEHICLES SEIZED BY POLICE 

 

This fee is set pursuant to Section 4.310 of the Howard County Code 

that authorizes the County Council to set, by resolution,  

a fee for towing, storage, and maintenance  

of lawfully seized vehicles.  

 

 

 

 

Towing, storage and maintenance of     $275 

lawfully seized vehicles 

 

 

 

 

 

FEE FOR FAILURE TO PAY FINE  

IMPOSED UNDER ALARM SYSTEM LAW  

 

This fee is set pursuant to Section 17.713 of the Howard  

County Code, that requires the County Council to set fees 

for the failure to pay a fine imposed under the  

law that regulates alarm systems in the county. 

 

Failure to pay fine. 

 

$10.00 for each month or fraction of a month until the penalty is satisfied. 
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ANIMAL CONTROL FEES 

 

These fees are set pursuant to Section 17.301 of the Howard County  

Code, which provides that the County Council shall approve a  

schedule of fees for animal control services. 

 

 
SERVICE FEE 

Impoundment 

First occurrence 

Subsequent occurrences 

 

$25 

$75 

Daily Board 

Small animal (1-20 lbs) 

Medium animal (21-50 lbs) 

Large animal (over 50 lbs) 

Special care 

 

$12 

$15 

$18 

$18 

Distemper Vaccination [[$8]]$9 

Rabies Vaccination $10 

Flea Treatment $10 

Trap Deposit 

Small animal 

Large animal 

 

$40 

$40 

Small animal carrier $3 

Euthanasia $15 

Disposal of remains $25 

Trapped wildlife $10 

Spay/Neuter Deposit  

Male dog 

Female dog 

Male cat 

Female cat 

 

$82* 

$97* 

$46* 

$61* 

Heartworm test $7* 

Feline Leukemia/FIV test $15* 

Fecal check $15* 

Bath  $35* 

 

* Fee depends on vendor prices.  For these services, the Animal Control Division may charge 

additional fees up to the cost of providing the service.  
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MAXIMUM RATES FOR ACCIDENT TOWING 

 
These charges are set pursuant to Section 21.301(h) of the Howard County Code which 

 requires the County Council to set the maximum rates that a tow operator  

may charge for towing under the Accident Tow Program 

 

Fees applicable to both Class I and Class II vehicle tows:  

 

Towing a vehicle when the vehicle’s keys are not available (per tow) $25.00 

 

Taping of vehicle windows, to secure vehicle from additional  

interior damage during storage:  

 Front or rear window, per window $10.00 

 Side window, per window $6.00 

 

Extra people, when needed, and verified by the police officer at the  

scene (per tow, justification shall be placed on the tow receipt for review) $25.00 

 

Inclement weather surcharge which shall only be charged during 

a declared snow emergency by the state and/or county (calculated based on  

towing fee but not additional fees authorized by this section) 25% 

 

Administrative Fee  $50.00 

(A one-time administrative fee shall only be charged when vehicle’s owner  

has not claimed, or arranged to claim their vehicle within three  

business days (business day is any day the company is regularly 

open for reclaiming vehicles).) 

 

 

Fees applicable to Class II vehicle tows:  

(A Class II vehicle is a vehicle that weighs up to 10,000 pounds gross vehicle weight.)  

 

Straight and/or roll-back towing of motorcycles and   

vehicles including trucks $125.00 

 

Winching of vehicles (fee is per hour, to be calculated 

in ¼ hour increments)  $120.00 

   

Extra trucks, when needed, (per tow, justification shall  

be placed on the tow receipt for review) $75.00 

 

Charge for towing each mile beyond 30 miles (fee per mile) $4.00 

 

Storage per day, or part thereof, commencing at 12:01 a.m.  

on the first calendar day after being towed, including days that  

the tow company is closed $25.00 
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 Release of vehicle during non-business hours (flat fee) $40.00 

 

Fees applicable to Class I vehicle tows:  

(A Class I vehicle is a vehicle that weighs over 10,000 pounds gross vehicle weight.) 

 

County Class I Vehicles 

 

Straight Truck (per hour including recovery) $390.00 

 

Trailer (per hour including recovery) $360.00 

 

Tractor/trailer combination (per hour including recovery) $465.00 

 

Storage per day, or part thereof, per piece commencing at  

12:01 a.m. on the first calendar day after being towed,  

including days that the tow company is closed $60.00 

 

Release of vehicle during non-business hours (flat fee) $40.00 

 

Charge for towing each mile beyond 30 miles (fee per mile) $4.60 

 

Extra trucks, when needed, (per tow, justification shall  

be placed on the tow receipt for review) $150.00 

 

 

 Private Class I Vehicles 

 

Straight Truck (per hour including recovery) $390.00 

 

Trailer (per hour including recovery) $360.00 

 

Tractor/trailer combination (per hour including recovery) $465.00 

 

Storage per day, or part thereof, per piece commencing at  

12:01 a.m. on the first calendar day after being towed,  

including days that the tow company is closed $75.00 

 

Release of vehicle during non-business hours (flat fee) $40.00 

 

Charge for towing each mile beyond 30 miles (fee per mile) $4.60 

 

Extra trucks, when needed, (per tow, justification shall  

be placed on the tow receipt for review) $150.00 
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CHARGE ON TELEPHONE BILLS FOR SUPPORT OF 911 SYSTEM 
 

This fee is set pursuant to Section 1-311 of the Public Safety Article of the  

Annotated Code of Maryland that authorizes the counties of  

Maryland to impose charges of up to 75¢ per month on each  

telephone bill to pay for operation and maintenance of the  

County's 911 emergency telephone system. 

 

 

Charge per month paid by subscribers to 

  switched local exchange access service 75¢ 

 

 

  Charge per month paid by subscribers to 

  wireless telephone service   75¢ 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

FINGERPRINT FEE 

 

This fee is set pursuant to the authority of the Police Department, the requirements  

of Title 14 of the Howard County Code that require that applicants for certain licenses 

 obtain their fingerprints from the Police Department at the expense of the applicant, and where 

local or State law requires a criminal background check. 

 

 

$ 20 fee when no more than 2 fingerprint cards are used  
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DOCUMENTS AND INFORMATION PROVIDED TO THE PUBLIC 

 

These fees are set pursuant to Section 4-206 of the General Provisions Article of the Annotated 

Code of Maryland which provides that the official custodian  

may charge a reasonable fee for the search, preparation  

and reproduction of a public record. 

 

 

 

Price per page, for paper copies, 

 except as provided otherwise below:  $ .25 for black and white 

       $ .50 for color 

        

911 tape reproduction     $70.00 per call reproduced 

 

Police Department Incident Report Reproduction $6.00 per copy 

 

Specific crime analysis reports requiring $30 per hour 

statistical analysis and research 

 

Photograph development: 

 

  

   

 

 

 

 

 

VHS Reproduction Fee    $25 

Audio tape reproduction    $10 

CD or DVD      $10 each 

Flash drive      $20 each 

 

Search and Preparation of Public Records 

In addition to any reproduction fees, the Department may charge fees for the search and 

preparation of public records, provided that no fee may be charged for the first two hours 

Size Photograph 

4x5  $2.00 

5x7 $4.00 

8x10 $8.00 

11x14 $10.00 

CD/DVD $10.00 
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of search and preparation, and provided that the fee charged may not exceed the 

Department’s actual cost of search and preparation. 

 

Electronic copies 

Unless otherwise provided by the Maryland Public Information Act:    

1. Electronic copies shall be provided when the record is routinely kept by the Department 

in an electronic format unless the requestor specifies paper copies;   

2. The Department may, but need not, convert paper records to electronic records; and    

3. Where an electronic response, or portion thereof, is too large to send electronically, the 

Department shall convert the response, or portion thereof, to paper, cd, dvd, or flash 

drive, as the requestor specifies. 

 


