

Howard County Council

George Howard Building 3430 Court House Drive Ellicott City, Maryland 21043-4392

> Legislative Work Session Monday, June 26, 2017 4:30 p.m. Banneker Room

Minutes (approved)

The Chairperson opened the work session at 5:17 p.m.

Members Present: Jon Weinstein, Chairperson; Calvin Ball, Vice Chairperson; Greg Fox; Mary Kay Sigaty; Jen Terrasa.

Staff Present: Jessica Feldmark, Council Administrator; Michelle Harrod, Deputy County Auditor; Gary Kuc, County Solicitor

Council Resolution 96-2017 and Council Resolution 97-2017

Renee Kamen and Bruce Gist answered questions about the cost per seat of constructing new capacity: \$64,000/seat for elementary school, \$74,000/seat for middle school, for \$70,000/seat for high school. Jeff Bronow discussed the impact of adopting the proposed charts on projects currently waiting in the schools bin. Mr. Bronow, Ms. Kamen, and Mr. Gist answered questions from the Council.

Council Members requested the following additional information:

• Any projects in the pipeline in school attendance areas that are currently open but proposed to close on the new chart which might move forward and get allocations within the next month or two if action on the open/closed charts is delayed.

Council Bill 53-2017 (ZRA169)

Val Lazdins, Bill Erskine, and Don Mock answered questions from the Council. They and agreed to continue working together on a comprehensive solution and requested that the Council table the legislation to provide additional time.

Council Resolution 98-2017 and Council Resolution 99-2017

Scott Armiger read a statement on behalf of Orchard Development. Cecily Bedwell, Amy Gowan, Earl Armiger, and Nina Basu joined him in answering questions from the Council. Council Members requested the following additional information:

- Updated version of the table from page 11 of the proposal to include phases and target dates
- Specific terms that must be included in the purchase and sale agreement and other suggested terms and conditions for PSA
- Copies of any covenants or deed restrictions on the County-owned portion of the Village Center

COUNCILMEMBERS

Jon Weinstein, Chairperson District 1 Calvin Ball, Vice Chairperson District 2 Jennifer Terrasa District 3 Mary Kay Sigaty District 4 Greg Fox The meeting was adjourned at 7:24 p.m.