COUNCILMEMBERS



Howard County Council

George Howard Building 3430 Court House Drive Ellicott City, Maryland 21043-4392 Jon Weinstein, Chairperson District 1 Calvin Ball, Vice Chairperson District 2 Jennifer Terrasa District 3 Mary Kay Sigaty District 4 Greg Fox District 5

Minutes (Approved) Public Hearing Continuation September 11, 2017, 6:00 p.m. Banneker Room

Members Present: Jon Weinstein, Council Chairperson; Calvin Ball, Vice Chairperson; Greg Fox, Council Member; Mary Kay Sigaty, Council Member; and Jennifer Terrasa, Council Member.

Staff Present: Jessica Feldmark, Administrator; Jennifer Sager, Administration; Theo Wimberly, Legislative Analyst; John Gwynn, Assistant County Solicitor; and Kel Habicht, Administrative Support.

- I. Call Meeting to Order at 6:02 p.m.
- II. Pledge of Allegiance led by Boy Scout Troop 007.
- III. Agenda
 - 1. Council Bill 60-2017 (ZRA 180) Introduced by: The Chairperson at the request of the County Executive and cosponsored by Greg Fox and Mary Kay Sigaty AN ACT allowing certain composting facilities and emergency natural wood waste recycling facilities as accessory uses under certain conditions in certain Zoning Districts; allowing certain natural wood waste recycling facilities and composting facilities as a use permitted as a matter of right under certain conditions in certain Zoning Districts; providing supplementary regulations for composting facilities and emergency natural wood waste recycling facilities; providing certain terms; making facilities and natural wood waste recycling facilities; defining certain terms; making certain technical corrections; and generally relating to the Howard County Zoning Regulations.
 - a. Susan Garber, Chairperson, Savage Community Association P.O. Box 222, Savage, MD
 - b. China Williams 3425 Huntsmans Run, Ellicott City, MD

- c. Lynn Moore 2425 Woodbine Road, Woodbine, MD
- d. Ted Mariani, Board Member, Concerned Citizens of Western Howard County 16449 Ed Warfield Road, Woodbine, MD
- e. Katie Hester 3701 Red Oak Lane, Ellicott City, MD
- f. Leslie Englehart 5200 Kalmia Drive, Dayton, MD
- g. Brenda Stewart 2752 Daisy Road, Woodbine, MD
- h. Steven Curtis 14000 Triadelphia Mill Road, Dayton, MD
- i. Alan Montgomery 4975 Morning Star Drive, Dayton, MD
- j. Harry Evan Behre 5159 Green Bridge Road, Dayton, MD
- k. Judy Fisher-George 9216 Howland Road, Laurel, MD
- 1. David Plummer, Manager, Howard Soil Conservation District 14735 Frederick Road, Cooksville, MD
- m. Jeff Harp 5034 Green Bridge Road, Dayton, MD
- n. Lorraine Tegeris 14028 Big Branch Drive, Dayton, MD
- o. Emily Moore 2435 Woodbine Road, Woodbine, MD
- Dan O'Leary, Chairman of the Board, Greater Highlands Crossroads Association -12832 Highland Road, Highland, MD
- q. Howie Feaga, President, Howard County Farm Bureau 3807 Walt Ann Drive, Ellicott City, MD
- r. Kimberli Scanio 13827 Dayton Meadows Court, Dayton, MD
- s. Cathy Hudson 6018 Old Lawyers Hill Road, Elkridge, MD
- t. John Liao 8862 Montjoy Place, Ellicott City, MD
- u. Mark Mullinix 13900 Howard Road, Dayton, MD
- v. Jennifer Bush 14036 Big Branch Drive, Dayton, MD
- w. Ricky Bauer, Chairman, Howard County Agricultural Land Preservation Board 13817 Howard Road, Dayton, MD
- x. Leslie Bauer 13815 Howard Road, Dayton, MD
- y. Linda Bilsens, Project Manager, Institute for Local Self Reliance 1710 Connecticut Avenue NW, Washington, DC
- z. Erin Allen 5014 Green Bridge Road, Dayton, MD
- aa. Keith Ohlinger 2790 Florence Road, Woodbine, MD
- bb. John Allen 5014 Green Bridge Road, Dayton, MD
- cc. Brent Loveless 9570 Whiskey Bottom Road, Laurel, MD
- dd. Craig Ostrom 14100 Big Branch Drive, Dayton, MD
- ee. Joel Hurewitz 5681 Harpers Farm Road, Columbia, MD
- ff. Justin Brendel 2510 Duvall Road, Woodbine, MD
- gg. Zack Brendel 2175 Woodbine Road, Woodbine, MD
- hh. Joanne Heckman, Communications Committee Chair, Howard County Sierra Club - 11174 Wood Elves Way, Columbia, MD
- ii. Victor Velculescu 14064 Big Branch Drive, Dayton, MD
- jj. Joe Cook 4435 Linthicum Road, Dayton, MD
- kk. Linda Norris-Waldt, Membership and Marketing Manager, U.S. Composting Council - 9227 Baltimore National Pike, Middletown, MD

ll. Jeni Deuber - 2705 Woodbine Road, Woodbine, MDmm. Conor Bell - 14180 Twisting Lane, Dayton, MD

2. APFO Legislation (Introduced by: Chairperson at the request of the County Executive)

Council Bill 61-2017 - AN ACT amending the Adequate Public Facilities Act requiring certain periodic review; specifying completion timelines for certain types of road remediation projects; requiring that certain agreements contain certain provisions with regard to the timing of road mitigation projects; amend the title of certain charts and other terminology; requiring certain waiting periods; clarifying certain exemptions; defining certain terms; amending certain definitions; making certain technical corrections; and generally relating to the Adequate Public Facilities Act of Howard County.

Council Bill 62-2017 - AN ACT amending PlanHoward 2030, the general plan for Howard County, to reduce the number of allocations in the Growth and Revitalization category and to increase the number of allocations in the Established Communities category, beginning in 2020; and generally relating to planning, zoning and land use in Howard County Government County.

- a. Hannah Loveless 9570 Whiskey Bottom Road, Laurel, MD
- b. Kaylee Ramey 6528 Wesley Lane, Elkridge, MD
- c. Piper Hermodsson
- d. Cynthia Vallaincourt, Chairman, Howard County Board of Education
- e. John Liao 8862 Montjoy Place, Ellicott City, MD
- f. Ainy Haider-Shah 9913 Frederick Road, Ellicott City, MD
- g. Catherine Mailander 3447 Arcadia Drive, Ellicott City, MD
- h. Cole Schnorf 4912 Valley View Overlook, Ellicott City, MD
- i. Bruce Harvey 7792 Elmwood Road, Fulton, MD
- j. Joel Hurewitz 5681 Harpers Farm Road, Columbia, MD
- k. James Fraser
- 1. Steve Breeden 587 Gaither Road, Sykesville, MD
- m. Tim Lattimer 8452 Each Leaf Court, Columbia, MD
- n. Gina Desiderio Edmison 4713 Roundhill Road, Ellicott City, MD
- o. Wendy Williams-Abrams 3144 St. Charles Place, Ellicott City, MD
- p. Richard Kohn 5218 Wood Stove Lane, Columbia, MD
- q. Lei Zhang 8673 Wellford Drive, Ellicott City, MD
- r. BreeAnne Chadwick 9853 Helmwood Court, Ellicott City, MD
- s. Beth Gettleman 11409 Butterfruit Way, Ellicott City, MD
- t. Vicky Cutroneo, President, PTA Council of Howard County 15005 Scottswood Court, Woodbine, MD
- u. Diane Butler
- v. Michelle Wood, Chair, Hickory Ridge Community Association 6175 Sunny

Spring, Columbia, MD

- w. Nellie Arrington, President, Mount Hebron/Orchards Community Association
- x. Denise Eblen 6317 Saddle Drive, Columbia, MD
- y. Kimberly Hurst 5904 Northern Court, Elkridge, MD
- z. Zach Rose 4500 Chews Terrace, Ellicott City, MD
- aa. Chao Wu 5720 Whistling Winds Walk, Clarksville, MD
- bb. Jessica Chicorelli 6314 Montery Road, Elkridge, MD
- cc. Nancy Pitrone 9601 Hawk Court, Ellicott City, MD
- dd. Jennifer Spiegel 12475 Triadelphia Road, Ellicott City, MD
- ee. Kristi Comeau 6460 Julie Ann Drive, Hanover, MD
- ff. Paul Scott 6401 South Wind Circle, Columbia, MD
- gg. Srinivas Chennamaneni 8782 Wellford Drive, Ellicott City, MD
- hh. Hongling Zhou, Vice President, Chinese American Parent Association of Howard County - 7065 River Oak Court, Clarksville, MD
- ii. Joan Nuetzel 3505 Font Hill Drive, Ellicott City, MD
- jj. Douglas Perkins 10613 Vista Road, Columbia, MD
- kk. Laura Wisely 5811 Main Street, Elkridge, MD

IV. Adjourned: 12:00 a.m.