COUNCILMEMBERS



Howard County Council

George Howard Building 3430 Court House Drive Ellicott City, Maryland 21043-4392 Deb Jung, Chairperson District 4 Liz Walsh, Vice Chairperson District 1 Opel Jones District 2 Christiana Rigby District 3 David Yungmann

District 5

Work Session Minutes (approved)

Wednesday, September 23, 2020 Virtually (via Webex) Video Streamed on <u>https://cc.howardcountymd.gov/Online-Tools/Watch-Us</u> 2:00 p.m.

The Chairperson opened the meeting at 2:05 p.m.

Councilmembers present: Deb Jung, Chairperson; Liz Walsh, Vice Chairperson; Opel Jones; Christiana Rigby; and David Yungmann.

Staff Present: Diane Schwartz Jones, Council Administrator; Craig Glendenning, Council Auditor; Gary Kuc, County Solicitor; Theo Wimberly, Administrative Manager; Margery Sayers, Executive Assistant; Terry Diggs, DTCS; Greg Slack, DTCS

Administration Staff Attending: Maureen Arthurs and Jennifer Sager

Council Resolution 110-2020 - A RESOLUTION appointing members to the Planning Advisory Committee to assist in the development of HoCo By Design, Howard County's next General Plan.

Department of Planning and Zoning Director Amy Gowan and Deputy Director Mary Kendall participated. There was general discussion about the composition of the Planning Advisory Group and the number of representatives of different stakeholder groups. Director Gowan indicated that the Planning Advisory Group is structured to reflect a representative group and that members are to also serve as "ambassadors" of the planning effort. Council Vice-Chairperson Walsh expressed concerns that the proposed membership includes a lobbyist and about the extent of developer interests represented. Vice-chair Walsh urged inclusion of young leaders as the plan is for many years into the future. Council Chair Jung urged balance between the number of participants representing development interests and the number representing interests of the public school community.

Council Bill 51-2020 - AN ACT prohibiting the Howard County Department of Corrections from accepting into its custody persons detained by federal immigration law enforcement agencies and housing those persons as they await disposition of exclusively immigration-related proceedings.

Participants included Corrections Director Jack Kavanagh; Sebastian Brown, an ACLU representative; Nick Steiner, Esq. an ACLU representative; Mike Mitchell, FIRN representative

Councilmember Jones inquired into what CB51-2020 will do that the recent policy change from the Administration does not do and indicated that the new policy covers similar areas of the bill except for detainees who have been convicted of certain violent crimes. General discussion

followed about the detainee population and whether they are from Howard County or elsewhere. Councilmembers discussed the policy of Howard County cooperating with ICE given its role and treatment of immigrant populations.

Director Kavanagh indicated that the detainee population varies overtime and that not many detainees come from Howard County. The vast majority are from Montgomery, Prince Georges', and Baltimore Counties and Baltimore City with perhaps 10% of the detainee population being from out of state. The average stay for detainees in the Detention Center is approximately 3.5 months. Director Kavanagh further indicated that the most detainees are deported and have already had deportation proceedings.

There was general discussion about a letter from FIRN and a responding letter from the ACLU. FIRN questioned access to assistance and the ACLU stressed alternatives to incarceration for detainees. Distinctions were drawn between people in criminal custody versus people incarcerated as detainees.

Director Kavanagh explained how payments from ICE are set for supporting detainees.

The meeting concluded at 4:40 p.m.