

Howard County Council

George Howard Building 3430 Court House Drive Ellicott City, Maryland 21043-4392

COUNCILMEMBERS

Jennifer Terrasa, Chairperson
District 3
Mary Kay Sigaty, Vice Chairperson
District 4
Courtney Watson
District 1
Calvin Ball
District 2
Greg Fox
District 5

Operating Budget Hearing Minutes (unapproved) April 29, 2013

Members present: Jennifer Terrasa, Council Chairperson; Mary Kay Sigaty, Vice Chairperson; Calvin Ball, Council Member; Greg Fox, Council Member; and Courtney Watson, Council Member. **Staff Present:** Sheila Tolliver, Administrator; Jeff Meyers, Legislative Assistant; Rozonna Hightower, Administrative Aide; Craig Glendenning, County Auditor.

Meeting called to Order at 7:35 p.m.

- I. Public Hearing FY 2014 Budgets April 29, 2013 in the Banneker Room of the George Howard Building, 3430 Court House Drive, Ellicott Cite, MD 21043 at 7:30 pm
 - A. Approve Minutes Budget Worksession April 18, 2013 and April 23, 2013

 Jen Terrasa, Chairperson moved to approve Meeting Minutes, seconded by Mary Kay Sigaty, Vice Chairperson.

The motion carried as follows

AYES: Jen Terrrasa, Council Chairperson, Mary Kay Sigaty, Council Vice Chairperson; Calvin Ball, Council Member; Greg Fox, Council Member; and Courtney Watson, Council Member

B. Approve Minutes - Closed Meeting, March 28, 2013

Jen Terrasa, Chairperson moved to approve Meeting Minutes, seconded by Mary Kay Sigaty, Vice Chairperson.

The motion carried as follows

AYES: Jen Terrrasa, Council Chairperson, Mary Kay Sigaty, Council Vice Chairperson; Calvin Ball, Council Member; Greg Fox, Council Member; and Courtney Watson, Council Member

C. Capital and Operating Budgets for Howard Community College

- 1. Dr. Kate Hetherington President Howard Community College
- 2. Chris Gunther 9545 Long Look Lane, Columbia Md.
- 3. Kevin Doyle Chair, Board of Trustees Howard Community College

D. Capital and Operating Budgets for Howard Library

- 1. Valerie Gross President & CEO Howard County Library
- 2. Richard Alexander Chair/HC Library, Board of Trustees
- 3. Rose Pesce-Rodriguez 6327 Loudon Avenue, Elkridge, 21075
- 4. Mitsuki Ota 7th Grade Student/Columbia Academy

C. Capital and Operating Budgets for the Board of Education

- 1. Frank Aquino Chairman/Board of Education
- 2. Dr. Renee Foose Superientendant/HCPSS
- 3. Howard Johnson Greater Elkridge Community Association, 6241 Latchlift Court, Elkridge 21075

D. Operating Budgets all other departments; and other topics:

- 1. Brad Closs Director/NeighborRide, 5570 Sterrett Place, Columbia 21045
- 2. Coleen West Executive Director/HC Arts Council, 8510 High Ridge Road, Ellicott City 21043
- 3. Debbie Ellinghaus Commission for Downtown Arts in Culture, Fulton
- 4. Ian Kennedy Downtown Arts in Culture Commission 6174 Clearsmoke Court, Columbia
- 5. Michael McCall 11619 Lakewater Lane, Columbia
- 6. Jim McMillian 13583 Jillian Manor Lane, West Friendship
- 7. Jill Bussey President Board of Directors/FIRN
- 8. Alexis Downs on behalf of Pedro Reyes-Immigration Counselor/FIRN
- 9. Shin E. Lew 7035 Ivoryhand Place, Columbia
- 10. Rachelina Bonnaci CEO/Howard County Tourism
- 11. Risa Garon National Family Resiliency Center 102632 Little Patuxent Pkwy, Columbia
- 12. Max Wiggins Peer Counselor/Family Resiliency Center
- 13. Dorothy Plantz -representing ARC of Howard County
- 14. Blake Fetrow Chief Attorney/MD Legal Aid Bureau Community Services Partnership
- 15. Bill Moss Executive Director/The Linwood Center
- 16. John Slater President/Pataspco Heritage Greenway
- 17. Andrea Ingram representing Grassroots
- 18. Alexis Flanningan Assistor Director/Domestic Violence Center

E. Adjourned at 9:38p.m.

Visit the Council's website (www.howardcountymd.gov/CountyCouncil/CC_HomePage.htm) to view legislation, send written testimony, and sign-up electronically to testify at public hearings.

Persons needing accommodations to fully participate in the meeting, please contact the Council Office, 410-313-2001, at least eight working days in advance.