

Howard County Council

George Howard Building 3430 Court House Drive Ellicott City, Maryland 21043-4392

COUNCILMEMBERS

Christiana Rigby, Chair District 3

Deb Jung, Vice Chair District 4

> **Opel Jones, Chair** District 2

Liz Walsh District 1

David Yungmann District 5

Legislative Public Hearing Monday, September 18, 2023 Hybrid Meeting (Virtual and In-Person Meeting) Video Streamed on <u>https://cc.howardcountymd.gov/Online-Tools/Watch-Us</u> Broadcast on channels 44(Verizon) and 99(Comcast) 7:00 p.m.

Minutes (Approved)

Members Present: Christiana Rigby, Chairperson; Deb Jung, Vice Chairperson; Dr. Opel Jones, Council Member; Liz Walsh, Council Member; and David Yungmann, Council Member.

Staff Present: Theo Wimberly, Administrative Manager to the County Council; Craig Glendening, County Auditor; Owen Clark, Fiscal Manger II; Amanda Mihill, Assistant County Solicitor; Jennifer Sager, Legislative Coordinator; Maureen Arthurs, Director of Government Affairs; Legislative Analyst; Isaiah Anderson, Executive Assistant, Charity Respass, Administrative Assistant and Rozonna Hightower, Administrative Aide were also present.

Meeting called to order at 7:03 PM

I. Reading of Honorary Resolution by Chair Rigby - Suicide Prevention Month

II. Appointments

- A. **CR140-2023** A RESOLUTION confirming the appointment of Eneanya Obioha to the Human Rights Commission.
 - 1. Eneanya Obioha Student, called to speak
- B. **CR139-2023** A RESOLUTION confirming the appointment of Samantha Magness to the LGBTQIA+ Commission.
 - 1. Samantha Magness Student, called to speak
- A. **CR112-2023** A RESOLUTION confirming the appointment of Sean P. Keller to the Howard County Commission for Veterans and Military Families.
 - 1. Sean Keller, called to speak

- B. **CR132-2023** A RESOLUTION confirming the appointment of James Bell to the Advisory Board on Consumer Protection.
 - 1. James Bell, called to speak
- C. **CR133-2023** A RESOLUTION confirming the appointment of Kyle R. Burton, MD, MPP, to the Commission on Aging.
 - 1. Dr. Kyle Burton, called to speak
- D. **CR135-2023** A RESOLUTION confirming the appointment of Candace Dodson-Reed to the Housing Commission.
 - 1. Joel Hurewitz, called to speak
 - 2. Candice Dodson-Reed, called to speak
- E. **CR136-2023** A RESOLUTION recommending to the Governor of Maryland that Lynda Eisenberg be appointed to the Patuxent River Commission.
 - 1. Lynda Eisenberg, called to speak
- F. **CR137-2023** A RESOLUTION confirming the appointment of Brent Grazman, Ph.D., to the Adult Public Guardianship Review Board.
 - 1. Dr. Brent Grazman, called to speak
- G. **CR138-2023** A RESOLUTION confirming the appointment of Melissa Hudzik to the Adult Public Guardianship Review Board.
 - 1. Melissa Hudzik, called to speak
- H. **CR142-2023** A RESOLUTION confirming the appointment of Madiha Rahimi to the Asian American and Pacific Islander Commission.
 - 1. Madiha Rahimi, called to speak
- I. **CR143-2023** A RESOLUTION confirming the appointment of Jill Rathburn to the Local Behavioral Health Advisory Board.
 - 1. Jill Rathburn, called to speak

- J. **CR144-2023** A RESOLUTION confirming the appointment of Prateek Shukla to the Adult Public Guardianship Review Board.
 - 1. Prateek Shukla, called to speak
- K. **CR145-2023** A RESOLUTION confirming the appointment of Narissa Solanki to the Local Behavioral Health Advisory Board.
 - 1. Narissa Solanki, called to speak
- L. **CR146-2023** A RESOLUTION confirming the appointment of Sean Thomas to the Board of Social Services.
 - 1. Sean Thomas, called to speak
- M. **CR147-2023** A RESOLUTION confirming the appointment of Bradley Welsh to the Local Behavioral Health Advisory Board.
 - 1. Bradley Welsh, called to speak
- N. **CR148-2023** A RESOLUTION confirming the appointment of Jessica K. Winkles, Ph.D., to the Howard County Local Children's Board.
 - 1. Dr. Jessica Winkles, called to speak
- O. **CR149-2023** A RESOLUTION confirming the appointment of Antoine RJ Wright to the Multimodal Transportation Board.
 - 1. Antoine Wright, called to speak
- P. **CR150-2023** A RESOLUTION confirming the appointment of Kathryn Valentine to the Housing Commission.
 - 1. Kathryn Valentine, called to speak
 - 2. Joel Hurewitz, called to speak

III. Reappointments

A. **CR151-2023** - A RESOLUTION confirming the reappointment of Jae Chon to the Pension Oversight Commission.

IV. General

- A. **CB35-2023** AN ACT authorizing step adjustments for purposes of pay equity, under certain conditions; requiring certain approvals by the Personnel Officer following an assessment and recommendation by the Human Resources Administrator; and generally relating to the rates of pay for County employees.
- B. **CB36-2023** AN ACT amending the Pay Plan for Howard County; providing pay scales for certain public safety employees that shall be effective January 1, 2024; to correct a scale that applies to members of the Fraternal Order of Police Lodge 143; and generally relating to the Pay Plan for Howard County.
 - 1. Anju Bennet Administrator, Human Resources, called to speak
 - 2. Shawna Fisher Human Resources, called to speak
- C. **CR152-2023** A RESOLUTION pursuant to Section 4.201 of the Howard County Code declaring that a portion of land owned by Howard County, Maryland and located within Centennial Park, along Centennial Lane and Maryland Route 108, is no longer needed by the County for public purposes; authorizing the County Executive to convey, upon certain consideration, fee simple title to 0.834 acres and permanent easement interests in 0.152 acres to the State of Maryland, Department of Transportation, State Highway Administration; waiving the advertising and bidding requirements of Section 4.201 of the Howard County Code; and providing that the County Executive is not bound to convey the property if he finds that the County may have a use for the property.
 - 1. Emily Iacchei DPW, called to speak
 - 2. Joel Hurewitz, called to speak
- D. **CB37-2023** DJ / DY AN ACT removing the prohibition on owners of multiple residential properties from receiving the property tax credit for seniors and retired military personnel; and generally relating to property tax credits.
 - 1. Nadine Bernard, called to speak
 - 2. Esta Glazer, called to speak
 - 3. Evan Sober, called to speak
 - 4. Tim Feaga, called to speak
 - 5. William Hough, called to speak
 - 6. Joel Hurewitz, called to speak

Adjourned at 8:42 PM