**COUNCILMEMBERS** 



# **Howard County Council**

George Howard Building 3430 Court House Drive Ellicott City, Maryland 21043-4392 Christiana Rigby, Chair District 3 Deb Jung, Vice Chair District 4 Opel Jones District 2 Liz Walsh District 1 David Yungmann District 5

General Plan Work Session #9 Minutes – Approved

Hybrid Meeting (Virtual and In-Person Meeting) Video Streamed on <u>https://cc.howardcountymd.gov/watch-us</u> Wednesday, September 27, 2023 6:30 p.m.

Chair Rigby opened the meeting at 6:36 p.m.

**Councilmembers present**: Chair Christiana Rigby, Vice-chair Deb Jung; Liz Walsh, and David Yungmann

# Staff Present:

Michelle Harrod, Council Administrator; Isaiah Anderson, Executive Assistant; Theo Wimberly, Administrative Manager; Lynne Blume Rosen, Legislative Analyst; Owen Kahn, Legislative Analyst; Owen Clark, Deputy, County Auditor; Gary Kuc, County Solicitor; and Amanda Mihill, Assistant County Solicitor.

# Agenda

Amendments to the General Plan

Council Member Discussion of Amendments

# District 1

Council Member Walsh reviewed the District 1 amendments and discussed various topics, including:

- Route 1 Corridor;
- Climate crisis,
- Stormwater management;
- Deer management;
- Korean Way;
- Continued preservation of Old Ellicott City and Lawyers Hill Historical Districts;
- Character areas/zoning districts specific to agricultural land use;
- Mineral resources area;
- Housekeeping amendments, including maps, charts, and tables that do not have citations;
- Elkridge South;
- Open space acreage;

- Elimination of Green neighborhoods;
- Gateway; and
- Addition of hospital category to APFO.

#### District 3

Council Member Rigby reviewed the District 3 amendments and discussed various topics, including:

- Multiple versions of housing allocation chart;
- Striking Green Neighborhoods;
- Adding 500 units of affordable housing to incentive column of housing allocation chart;
- Reducing Activity Centers;
- Adding affordable for purchase units and affordable rental units to the housing allocation chart;
- Increasing home ownership in Activity Centers;
- Models to understand neighborhood turnover;
- Redevelopment of Owen Brown Village Center;
- Student generation yields by housing unit types and character areas;
- Student generation yields of housing built since 2020;
- Support of housing goals without overburdening schools; and
- Request for AFPO Task Force to look at specified data.

#### District 4

Council Member Jung reviewed the District 4 amendments and discussed various topics, including:

- Student yields and APFO;
- Housing Allocation chart;
- APFO exemptions;
- Origins of student growth;
- Elimination of Green Neighborhoods;
- Identification of future activity centers;
- Importance of home ownership for wealth building;
- Prescriptive language changed to suggestive language;
- Definition of affordable housing;
- Evaluation and accurate modeling of student generation yields;
- Future development of Gateway;
- Village Centers as areas to transform rather than to strengthen;
- Impact of airplane noise and particulates;
- BWI; and
- New Town zoning.

### District 5

Council Member Yungmann reviewed the District 5 amendments and discussed various topics, including:

- Rural west and agriculture;
- Elimination of specific references to housing types to be encouraged in the Rural Crossroads;
- Minimum allocations for seniors and persons with disabilities tied to public funding;
- Elimination of Agricultural Fund money for general ecological purposes;
- Expansion of the use of Agricultural preservation funds to support the industry;
- Policy statement in Dynamic Neighborhoods to encourage home ownership;
- Removal of housing development as reason to expand the public water and sewer boundary;
- Maintenance of rural character when considering different types of housing development;
- Development of Agricultural Master Plan;
- Agrotourism; and
- Use of agricultural preservation funds to support industry that grow local food and to assist with succession plans.

Chair Rigby closed the meeting at 9:25 p.m.

#### <u>General Plan</u> Work Session 9 Agenda – Participants

#### **HCBD** Core Team

Lynda Eisenberg Brian Shepter Jessica Bellah Mary Kendall Kristin O'Connor Kate Bolinger Sarah Latimer Matt Noonkester

Budget

Holly Sun

OOT

Bruce Gartner David Cookson

#### **DPW/Transportation**

Amah Binde Kris Jagarapu Abdul Akbari Mark Richmond Bilal Sarayra Art Shapiro Jen Woo

#### EDA

Jennifer Jones Kathy Johnson Jason Jannati

# DPZ

Jeff Bronow Anthony Cataldo Geoff Goins Beth Burgess Samantha Holmes Susan Overstreet Joy Levy Chad Edmondson

#### **OCS/Agriculture**

Lindsay DeMarzo James Zoller Bill Mahoney Julie Constantino

#### HCPSS

Tim Rogers Dan Lubeley

**DHCD** Kelly Cimino

Health Mike Davis