COUNCILMEMBERS



Howard County Council

George Howard Building 3430 Court House Drive Ellicott City, Maryland 21043-4392 **Deb Jung, Chair** District 4

Liz Walsh, Vice Chair District 1

> Opel Jones District 2

Christiana Rigby District 3

David Yungmann District 5

Minutes – Approved

Legislative Work Session

Tuesday, July 23, 2024 Hybrid Meeting (Virtual and In-Person Meeting) Video Streamed on <u>https://cc.howardcountymd.gov/watch-us</u> 9:30 a.m. – 11:00 a.m.

Chair Jung opened the meeting at 9:38 a.m.

Council Members present: Chair Deb Jung, Vice Chair Liz Walsh, Opel Jones, Christiana Rigby, and David Yungmann.

Staff present: Theo Wimberly, Administrative Manager; Gary Kuc, County Solicitor; Amanda Mihill, Assistant County Solicitor; Ervens Jean-Pierre, Legislative Analyst; Owen Kahn, Legislative Analyst; Isaiah Anderson, Executive Assistant I; Trish Hammond, Administrative Aide; Lisa Geerman, Acting County Auditor and.

Agenda:

CB37-2024 - Introduced by Christiana Rigby *Short Title:* School facilities surcharge amendment for single family detached dwellings.

Council Member Rigby provided Council with background on the school facilities surcharge andan overview of the proposed legislation. Mr. Frances of the Department of Inspections, Licensing, and Permits (DILP) responding to questions from the Council about ways builders and developers may be impacted by the legislation, and how DILP collects permit fees. Ms. Geerman, discussed the expected fiscal impact of the legislation. Mr. Frances discussed DILP's interpretation of the proposed language, including ways to enforce the primary residence provision. There was general discussion about the long term impacts of the bill and the surcharge; comparisons to other jurisdictions; ways to better tie the surcharge to the expected impact on school capacity; how modeling could be used to calculate long term effects of new construction on enrollment; and if there needs to be a different process for collecting funds for schools. Mr. Frances discussed how the amount collected by the surcharge is decreasing. Council Members discussed the state of development, redevelopment, and zoning in the County, and the necessity for and enforcement of the fee. Deputy Superintendent Turner-Little and Mr. Lubeley discussed how the school system calculates expected school enrollment and the expected impact of a change in the surcharge. There was a general discussion about other ways to generate money for school construction, including a State led task force that is being convened. Council Member Rigby thanked participants for discussing ways to help Howard County residents.

Chair Jung adjourned the meeting at 10:30 a.m.

Persons needing accommodations to fully participate in the meeting, please contact the Council Office, 410-313-2001 or email <u>CouncilADA@howardcountymd.gov</u>

Legislative Work Session - Participants Tuesday, July 23, 2024

<u>CB37-2024</u>

Board of Education

Jennifer Mallo, Chair Yun Lu, Vice Chair Linfeng Chen Robyn Scates Jacky McCoy Jolene Mosley Antonia Watts James Obasiolu, Student

HCPSS

Karalee Turner-Little Dan Lubeley Timothy Rogers

Howard County PTA

Terri Marcus

Department of Planning and Zoning

Jeff Bronow Jessica Bellah Anthony Cataldo

Department of Inspections, Licensing and Permits

Bob Frances