COUNCILMEMBERS



Howard County Council

George Howard Building 3430 Court House Drive Ellicott City, Maryland 21043-4392

Minutes - Approved

Legislative Work Session Monday, January 27, 2025 Hybrid Meeting (Virtual and In-Person Meeting) Video Streamed on <u>https://cc.howardcountymd.gov/watch-us</u> 9:30 a.m.

The Work Session was called to order at 9:33 am.

Council Members Present: Chair Liz Walsh, Opel Jones (virtual), Deb Jung, Christiana Rigby, and David Yungmann,

Staff Present: Michelle Harrod, Council Administrator, Gary Kuc, County Solicitor Isaiah Anderson, Executive Assistant, Lisa Geerman Acting County Auditor, Theo Wimberly, Administrative Manager, Nick Rinhart, Legislative Analyst, Jim Almon, Legislative Analyst, and Virgina Gambrell, Administrative Aid.

Agenda

CB4-2025 Multi-Year Agreement – Rapid Transit System

David Cookson, Planning Manager and Clarence "Trey" Dickerson, Transportation Administrator from the Howard County Office of Transportation, and Phil McLaughlin, Chief of Planning & Implementation for the Montgomery County Department of Transportation were present to discuss the Council Bill 4-2025 and how the proposed Rapid Bus Transit project would be implemented.

The Participants responded to questions from the Council including the anticipated usage and demand of the proposed bus system; the timeline for implementing the proposed bus service; concern about the reliability of the Maryland State Highway Administration funding for infrastructure improvements along the US 29 Corridor; and Howard County's eligibility for the State transportation lottery funds; concern about the reliability of the Maryland State Highway Administration funding for infrastructure improvements along the US 29 Corridor; and Howard County's eligibility for the State transportation funding for infrastructure improvements along the US 29 Corridor; and Howard County's eligibility for the State transportation lottery funds.

Liz Walsh, Chair District 1 Opel Jones, Vice Chair District 2 Christiana Rigby District 3

> Deb Jung District 4 David Yungmann District 5

TAO2-FY2025 & CB2-2025 Transfer of Capital Funds

David Lubeley, Executive Director, Capital Planning, Construction Cornell Brown, Chief Operating Officer, Howard County Board Members Jolene Mosely, Chair, Jacky McCoy (virtual), Antonia Watts (virtual), and Andrea Chamblee (virtual) appeared in support of TAO2-2025 and the accompanying legislation CB2-2025.

There was general discussion about the Howard County Public School System capital funding process; budget priorities and funding challenges; and the Council's concerns regarding the efficacy of P3 studies.

Council requested follow-up:

- Ms. Walsh asked Mr. Lubeley to provide additional information showing that funds being transferred out of capital projects match the available funding in the HCPSS Capital Budget.
- After the meeting Mr. Lubeley provided the Council with the Charles County Public School P3 Study

CB3-2025 – Loan Guarantee Assistance Funding- U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development

Kelly Cimino and Rose Burton, the Director and Deputy Director of the Howard County Department of Housing and Community Development appeared in support of the legislation.

There was general discussion regarding the proposed loan of \$5,848,000 from the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development; Howard County's liability on the loan; and affordable housing options, with an emphasis on affordable housing for seniors.

Council requested follow-up:

- How many students attend BryantWoods Elementary School from the Legacy at Twin Rivers community.
- A rendering of the Ranleagh Court redevelopment project.
- A list of all environmental waivers approved for the Legacy at Twin Rivers ,Ranleagh Court, and Waverly Winds redevelopment projects.
- The amount of open space that will be lost and the total amount of open space for the Ranleaugh Court and Waverly Winds redevelopment projects.

Meeting adjourned at 11:58 p.m.

Persons needing accommodations to fully participate in the meeting, please contact the Council Office, 410-313-2001 or email CouncilADA@howardcountymd.gov

Legislative Work Session - Participants Monday January 27, 2025

<u>CB4-2025</u>

David Cookson, Office of Transportation Trey Dickerson, Office of Transportation Phil McLaughlin, Montgomery County

TAO2-2025 & CB2-2025

Cornell Brown, HCPSS David Lubeley, HCPSS Jolene Mosley, School Board Jacky McCoy, School Board Antonia Watts, School Board Andrea Chamblee, School Board

<u>CB3-2025</u>

Kelly Cimino, DHCD Rose Burton, DHCD Tim Wall, DHCD

Mackenzie Kisiel, Enterprise Communities