COUNCILMEMBERS



Howard County Council

George Howard Building 3430 Court House Drive Ellicott City, Maryland 21043-4392 Liz Walsh, Chair District 1 Opel Jones, Vice Chair District 2 Deb Jung District 4 Christiana Rigby District 3

> David Yungmann District 5

Minutes - Approved

Legislative Public Hearing Wednesday February 19, 2025 Hybrid Meeting (Virtual and In-Person Meeting) Video Streamed on https://cc.howardcountymd.gov/watch-us Broadcast on channels 44(Verizon) and 99(Comcast) 7:00 p.m.

Members Present: Council Chair Liz Walsh, Vice Chair Opel Jones, Council Member Deb Jung, and Council Member David Yungmann were present.

Staff Present: Michelle Harrod; Council Administrator; Christopher Ashman County Auditor; Gary Kuc, County Solicitor; Amanda Mihill, Assistant County Solicitor; Jenn Sager, Legislative Coordinator; Isaiah Anderson, Executive Assistant; Nick Rinehart, Senior Legislative Analyst; Jim Almon, Senior Legislative Analyst; and Brenda Smith, Administrative Aide were present.

- I. Call to Order at 7:01 pm
- II. Roll Call.

III. Pledge of Allegiance

IV. February Legislation

Students and parents with students present in the Banneker Room, called to testify.

1. **CB11-2025** (**ZRA 211**) – Introduced by Deb Jung at the request Anwer Hasan - AN ACT amending the Howard County Zoning Regulations to add the Research and Development Laboratory use to the Planned Employment Center (PEC) zoning district and prohibiting such research and development uses that involve commercial plastic pellets or feedstock which produces flue gas and requires a permit from the state of Maryland; and generally relating to research and development laboratory uses in the PEC zoning district.

- a. Haylen Jung called to speak.
- b. Aisha Hasan called to speak.
- c. Senthil Achari called to speak.
- d. Mustafa Khaliqi called to speak.

A. Appointments

- 1. **CR14-2025** A RESOLUTION confirming the appointment of Reychal Lynn Windham to the Commission for Women.
 - a. Reychal Windham called to speak.
- 2. **CR21-2025** A RESOLUTION confirming the appointment of Reginald T. Avery to the Human Rights Commission.
 - a. Reginald T. Avery called to speak.
- 3. **CR22-2025** A RESOLUTION confirming the appointment of Jeffrey Rubin to the Human Rights Commission.
 - a. Jeffrey Rubin called to speak.
- 4. **CR25-2025** A RESOLUTION confirming the appointment of Tahira Mussarat Hussain to the Human Trafficking Prevention Coordination Council.
 - a. Tahira Mussarat Hussain called to speak.

B. General

- 1. **CR10-2025** LW AN ACT amending the Howard County Code to establish a Notice and a Requirement to provide an offer to the County and Housing Commission to purchase Mobile Home Parks or Motels offered for sale in the County; and generally relating to the sale of Mobile Home Parks, or Motels.
 - a. Dan Hajdo called to speak.

- 2. **CB11-2025** (**ZRA 211**) DJ for Anwer Hasan AN ACT amending the Howard County Zoning Regulations to add the Research and Development Laboratory use to the Planned Employment Center (PEC) zoning district and prohibiting such research and development uses that involve commercial plastic pellets or feedstock which produces flue gas and requires a permit from the state of Maryland; and generally relating to research and development laboratory uses in the PEC zoning district.
 - a. Shamieka Preston called to speak.
 - b. Joseph Rutter called to speak.
 - c. Peter Murdza called to speak.
 - d. Robert Harding called to speak.
 - e. Tracy Pogue called to speak.
 - f. CE Yang called to speak.
 - g. Scott Purnell called to speak.
 - h. Mark Wallace called to speak.
 - i. Sean Okonsky called to speak.
 - j. Anwer Hasan called to speak.
 - k. Roomina Hasan called to speak.
 - 1. Christopher Dailey called to speak.
 - m. Demetrius Michos called to speak.
 - n. Lisa Krausz called to speak.
 - o. Antoinette Crockrell called to speak.
 - p. Miriam Ameri called to speak.
 - q. Erin Taylor did not speak.
 - r. Guang Yuan called to speak
 - s. James Riley called to speak.

- t. Jamin Krinsky. called to speak.
- u. Robert Thomas did not speak.
- v. Samantha Schmitz, Moms Clean Air Force called to speak.
- w. Justin Preston called to speak.
- x. Sharyn Nerenberg called to speak.
- y. Kat Uy, Our Revolution Howard County called to speak.
- z. Deepak Patre Shashikumar did not speak.
- aa. Mahima Jain did not speak.
- bb. Maher Akremi, Clean Water Action called to speak.
- cc. Jane Williams did not speak.
- dd. David Askwith called to speak.
- ee. Moni Tolentino did not speak.
- ff. Rory Murray did not speak.
- gg. Mihir Patel called to speak.
- hh. Isabel Dailey called to speak.
- ii. Dave Arndt did not speak.
- jj. Piyush Kachhia did not speak.
- kk. Dipika Kachhia did not speak
- ll. Vaishali Jarral did not speak
- mm. Carolyn Parsa, Howard County Sierra Club did not speak.
- nn. Leonard Boyd called to speak.
- oo. Mildred Lockhart-Boyd called to speak.

pp. Rita Patel - called to speak.

qq. Michael Ruddock - called to speak.

rr. Spencer Clarke - did not speak

ss. Art Gamzon - did not speak

tt. Lily Weiss-Lora - did not speak.

uu. Arundari Sigdel - called to speak

vv. Pouyan Bokaei - called to speak.

ww. Rajvi Sukhadia - called to speak.

xx. Yukta Sreevatsan - did not speak.

yy. Kevin Bruening - called to speak.

zz. John Oskam - called to speak

aaa. Christopher Alleva - called to speak.

bbb. Joel Hurewitz - called to speak.

ccc. Darryll Pines – did not speak.

ddd. Aidan Morrell - called to speak

Adjourned at 10:30 pm