

Howard County Council

George Howard Building 3430 Court House Drive Ellicott City, Maryland 21043-4392 Liz Walsh, Chair
District 1
Opel Jones, Vice Chair
District 2
Christiana Rigby
District 3
Deb Jung
District 4
David Yungmann
District 5

Minutes - Approved

Capital Budget Work Session #1
Monday, April 21, 2025
Hybrid Meeting (In-Person and WebEx)
Video Streamed on https://cc.howardcountymd.gov/watch-us
10:00 a.m. -3:00 p.m.

Chair Walsh opened the first Work Session on the proposed Capital Improvement Program (CIP) for FY2026 at 10:05 am.

Council Members present: Liz Walsh, Opel Jones (virtual), Deb Jung, Christiana Rigby, and David Yungmann

Council Staff present: Michelle Harrod, Council Administrator; Isaiah Anderson, Executive Assistant; Virginia Gambrell, Administrative Support; Theo Wimberly, Administrative Manager; Nick Rinehart, Legislative Analyst; Jim Almon, Legislative Analyst; Christopher Ashman, County Auditor; Gary Kuc, County Solicitor; Amanda Mihill, Office of Law.

Administration Staff: Noted on final page.

Agenda:

Police (P Projects)

Chief Gregory Der and Major Terrance Benn were present to answer any questions that Council members had on proposed Capital Projects for the Police Department.

Discussion with Council members ensued on the proposed capital project (P4928) for impounding electric vehicles, funding and location for a new Central District police station in Downtown Columbia and confirming there would be a police presence/satellite station at the new Elkridge Community Center.

Fire and Rescue (F Projects)

Fire Chief Louis Winston, Deputy Chief Gordon Wallace, and Assistant Chief Pat LePore gave an overview of the CIP request for FY2026. Chief Winston noted that there were few changes from last year's request, with possible land acquisition for Marriottsville Station 16 to add to FY27 CIP request. Projects include systemic improvements to fire stations, installation of four

(410) 313-2001 fax: (410) 313-3297

new cisterns for F5972 Rural Fire Protection program, \$2.5 million request in F5973 for new

public safety storage facility and upgrading the Armory building to include Fire and Rescue HQ

and logistics building in the design, and a replacement Fire Station 7.

General discussion with the Council ensued. Topics of discussion included land acquisition and

potential alternative locations for the new Fire Station 7, questions about the costs regarding the

storage facility upgrades, and discussion about the details for the Rural Fire prevention program.

Agricultural Preservation (G Projects)

Joy Levy and Mary Kendall of the Department of Planning & Zoning (DPZ) were present to give

an overview of the CIP request for the Agricultural Preservation program for FY26. James Zoller

from the Office of Community Sustainability (OCS) was also present for the discussion.

Ms. Levy shared that the Agricultural Land Preservation Program (ALPP) funds were switched

over to G0164 from G0163 from the FY2025 budget, and shared the amount left over in

spending authority originally approved by the Council in 2013 and gave an update about

property acquisitions for preservation over the past fiscal year.

Discussion with Council members ensued. Topics of discussion included the possibility of

having the Agricultural Preservation Board consider expanding the ALPP to the Eastern part of

Howard County, and the overall amount of agricultural land preserved in relation to Countywide

goals.

Water (W Projects) and Sewer (S Projects)

Yosef Kebede, the Department of Public Works (DPW) director, was joined by Daniel Davis and

Zach Hollenbeck of DPW, and shared a presentation with the Council as an overview of the CIP

requests for General County, Water, and Sewer projects for FY26. The presentation included the

status of many of the projects listed in the FY26 budget request.

Discussion about Water and Sewer projects with the Council ensued. Topics of discussion

included expediting funding and land acquisition for the Clarksville Elevated Water Tank, a

discussion about project W8604 and identifying lead in sewer lines, the increase in costs for

(410) 313-2001 fax: (410) 313-3297

many sewer projects due to tariffs and other factors, and questions on funding for S6698 – Routine Sewer Extension program.

Technology (C Projects)

TJ Mayotte, Chief Information Officer for Howard County, and Sandra Tello of the Department of Technology and Communication Services (DTCS) gave an overview of the Technology project requests for the FY26 CIP. Mr. Mayotte highlighted that overall, DTCS is requesting funding for 7 projects, totaling \$11.6 million.

Discussion with Council members ensued. The main topic of discussion was the new proposed project, Transform Constituent Management (C0380), including questions about what the requested funding covers, and whether DTCS has considered using Artificial Intelligence (AI) technology to better improve constituent relations.

General County (C Projects)

Yosef Kebede (DPW), Kelly Cimino & Rose Burton (Housing & Community Development), Zach Hollenbeck and Emily Iacchei (DPW) were present to discuss the remaining General County project requests for FY26.

The County Council agreed to move the discussion of the Downtown Columbia TIF projects, the Ellicott City Projects, and the New Cultural Center project to the April 28th Capital Budget Work Session.

Discussion with Council members ensued. Topics of discussion included the costs, analyses, and priority level of the Non-Congregate Shelter facility project (C0381), the schedule delays of the composting facility associated with Capital Project C0299, the proposed funding levels of Capital Project C0365, acquisition and space allocations of a proposed County building at 9755 Patuxent Woods Drive, updates on the Facilities Master Plan, and the timeline for next steps with that project.

The meeting was adjourned at 2:45 pm.

(410) 313-2001 fax: (410) 313-3297 http://cc.howardcountymd.gov

4/21/2025 CIP Work Session Attendee List:

Budget

Holly Sun Brook Mamo

DPW

Yosef Kebede
John Seefried
Susan Voyce
Emily Iacchei

Water & Sewer
Daniel Davis
Zach Knight
Craig Daly

Finance
Rafiu Ighile
Angie Price
John Vu

Police projects
Chief Gregory Der
Gary McIlhinney
Major Terrance Benn
Sean Hollywood

Facilities
Sharon Walsh
Tae Jung
Zach Hollenbeck

Fire projects

Chief Louis Winston
Deputy Chief Gordon Wallace
Assistant Chief Pat LePore

Facilities
Sharon Walsh
Tae Jung
Zach Hollenbeck

Agricultural Preservation Joy Levy

Mary Kendall

Technology and Communications

TJ Mayotte Sandro Tello

General County

DPWSharon Walsh
Zach Hollenbe

Zach Hollenbeck Mark Deluca Mark Richmond Daniel Davis

Corrections

Margaret Chippendale Gregory Smith Scott Tilton

OoT

Clarence Dickerson

Fleet

Robert Phillips

OCS

James Zoller

Visit the Council's website (http://cc.howardcountymd.gov) to view legislation, send written testimony, and sign-up electronically to testify at public hearings.

Persons needing accommodations to fully participate in the meeting, please contact the Council Office, 410-313-2001.

(410) 313-2001 fax: (410) 313-3297 http://cc.howardcountymd.gov